Takin’ what I’m given…

Posted: August 25, 2008 in Journal, work

Aaaaahhhhh.

I LOVE staying in hotels. I love unpacking and putting everything away. I love how everything is tidy when I arrive, and gets tidied when I leave, and I come back to tidiness. I love going out to find the nearest grocery store, stocking up like a squirrel preparing for winter, and creating a little sanctuary for myself.

I got up at 4:30 this morning. The shuttle picking me up to take me to the airport was due between 5:30 and 5:45. So of COURSE the doorbell rings at 5:00. The shuttle was early, I had to rush to finish doing my hair and brush my teeth (subsequently leaving my toothbrush behind – force of habit caused me to toss it back in the drawer rather than pack it), and hope that I’d remembered to put everything in my suitcase the night before. I didn’t have the leisure to double and triple check what I’d packed, like I usually do, so I spent a few minutes while sitting in the shuttle stressing that I’d forgotten something (which I did, but easily remedied).

Plus I had to make due with a peck on Calvin’s cheek while he was 3/4 asleep, as a goodbye. Not good.

I was at the airport at 5:30, and through the check-in and security check in no time at all – there were no lines to speak of. I had a cup of oatmeal for breakfast, perused the news stands for a bit, and boarded at 6:45. The flight was very quick and uneventful, though my bladder INSISTS on needing relief twice an hour. It’s completely ridiculous. I swear when I fly out again on Thursday I’m not drinking ANYTHING for at least three hours before my flight.

I claimed my rental car (a Toyota RAV 4) and a kind co-worker rode with me to direct me to the AcronymCo site. I got there at a little after eleven, called Calvin, hunted and gathered some lunch, and then settled into the conference room for the first hour of our “face-to-face”.

Oy. There’s tension in this team. BUNCHES of tension. Lots of bickering (I even asked the lady next to me if two of the bickering people were siblings, or married – they weren’t, but they sure as hell ACTED like it). I have a complete lack of enthusiasm for the success of the remainder of the week.

I got out of there right at five, and after a few wrong turns (natch) I found my hotel. I offloaded and unpacked, then went back out to find the nearest grocery store to procure some juice, water, snacks, and a toothbrush. I grabbed a sandwich at Subway – I don’t have the energy to meet folks for anything fancier tonight. Then I figured out the room’s internet connection, called Calvin again, took a couple of pics, and here I am typing this entry.

My room:

roomview2082508

roomview082508

hotelview082508

The weather is just LOVELY – high 60’s/low 70’s, and the sky is full of puffy white clouds. I drove around with the windows down and have my hotel room window wide open to the fresh air. I plan on doing a bit of exploring and taking more pictures in the evenings after my meetings – there’s a cute little village of shops and restaurants just up the street from my hotel. So tomorrow night will be the night of my fancy, on-the-company dinner, I think.

I’m going to curl up now and read a bit and maybe watch some TV. More updates as the situation warrants!

Comments
  1. Jayne says:

    I know the trip is for work but I’m glad you’re enjoying aspects of it (like the weather)!

  2. Kim says:

    I’m so jealous! Even though I’m sure you miss your man, I bet it’s fun to be in a different place for a short time and go exploring.
    I’m SO glad you brought your camera!
    Have fun!

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    I LOVE the neatness and quiet of a hotel room. Sometimes I hate to leave!

  4. Dawn says:

    I think the thing I love most about staying in hotels on business is that once you leave the office and get to the hotel (well, usually, anyway), your time is 100% YOURS, with nobody around to see or judge. Want to eat ice cream for dinner? While watching tv? Naked? You can totally do it! You don’t have to clean or look around and go, “I should really get off my ass and clean this living room” or any of that crap. LOVE it.

    The daily maid service thing doesn’t suck, either.

  5. Calvin says:

    You know since I’m not with you, you will have to do the nude hallway dance for me.
    Just make sure you take a pic for me and block the door because i’ll guess that having to go to the front desk naked for a spare key could be a CLM.

  6. Laura says:

    Jayne – I am, thanks!

    Kim – I almost didn’t bother bringing the camera, but I’m glad I did now.

    TB – Oh, I’m sure I’ll be ready to leave by tomorrow. The room is nice, but the bed is HARD.

    Dawn – EXACTLY. Nekked watching TV eating Cheetos. Or something.

    Calvin – Is it a CLM if nobody else from the company is staying at my hotel? 😀 Love you, miss you.

    Amanda – It is! WICKED funky carpet IRL, tho.

  7. That room has a Marriot look to it…

    I usually travel alone and find it nice to get away from everyone. I do enjoy the Cheetos, but I just dump a couple of bags of them on the bed and can just roll over and eat one whenever I feel like it.

  8. Taoist Biker says:

    I like hard beds. Dys hates hard beds. That’s why our Sleep Number bed feels like a set of stairs – it has a high side and a low side.

    And hey hey, I nominated you for an award over at my blog! 😀

  9. Laura says:

    Morethananelectrician – I seem to find that most hotel rooms have similar looks and feels to them, ya know? Imagine what housekeeping must think of your Cheeto excursions! 😀

    TB – Why, I’m flattered! Thank you very much!!! Also, I’ve been debating whether or not to get one of those sleep number beds, or one of those foam mattress thingies.

Leave a Reply

