This one’s for you, Grammy!

Posted: August 18, 2008 in best things, Family, Headspace, Memory Lane

Seven years ago today, my dear Grammy passed away. Her loss is still such a painful thing, but along with the sadness are the good, happy memories, and the thoughts of her that make me smile. I love preparing her recipies from The Book. I love using the little sayings that she used to use. I catch myself humming while I’m doing my “chores” and think of how much I am like her. I’m so glad that Calvin got to meet her on a couple of occasions, so that we can remember her together.

I loved all the things that made her HER. She was my Grammy and she wasn’t like anybody else, ever. I came across something tonight that just made me laugh out loud. You see, OH how that woman LOVED Tom Selleck. My Grandmother did oil paintings as a hobby and she did several of “Magnum”, and even painted a full-sized portrait of him and hung it over her bed.

So, this one’s for you, Grammy. Miss you. Love you.

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    Okay, a portrait of Tom Selleck over the bed is teh awesom. Rest in peace, grammy.

  2. Dawn says:

    What ever became of that painting? Because that is AWESOME.

  3. Heather says:

    I was just thinking the Tom Selleck painting would have been perfect by the pool table. Heehee!!

    Grammy and Tom Selleck. My Mom and her Elvis collection. I think she gave it to an actual collector but my Mom had one of those pictures of Elvis that had been shellacked to a huge cut from a tree. It was just awful.

    Gotta love ’em.

    You know I’m thinking about you today…and every day.

  4. Laura says:

    TB – I KNOW, huh?

    Dawn – My Uncle lives in my Grandmother’s house, so the painting’s still there. Not over HIS bed, I hope. Heh.

    Heather – It WOULD be perfect. If I can ever get my Uncle to let me have some of the paintings, and I get that one, it’s going where those chicks in red are now. Hugs, honey bear.

  5. […] wrote about her sweet Grammy right here. When I lived in Arizona Laura and I would wax nostalgic this time of year. It was always nice to […]

Leave a Reply

