Prepared.

Posted: August 8, 2008 in best things, booze, Food, Home, movies, Music, TV, Video, weekend

Calvin and I are settling into a weekend of Olympic proportions. Celebration. The watching of the opening ceremonies. And the eating of many foods, and the drinking of many drinks. I just got back from the grocery store after having procured Bridgeport IPA (my very favoritest beer EVAR, pictured in my “cheers!” photo upper left), Fat Tire (Calvin’s favorite, and my close second), Steel Reserve (hush), wine (Menage a Trois, do you have it near you? EXCELLENT stuff), vodka (Three Olives), whisky (Jameson, of COURSE), candy bars, chips, Doritos, cheese dip, sour cream and dip mix, Diet Coke, regular Coke, iced tea, celery, radishes, and salad fixin’s (gotta have SOMETHING healthy to eat, after all).

I put a roast in the crock pot this morning, and it’s smelling HEAVENLY right now. I made a rub of crushed garlic, kosher salt, cracked pepper, olive oil, thyme, rosemary, and a southwest seasoning blend. I mixed it with a dash of olive oil and rubbed it all over the roast, which I set on top of the baby new potatoes and chunked onion I’d previously put in the pot. Then I dumped a mixture of beef broth, worcestershire, and a splash of sherry over the top of it all, and tossed in a bay leaf. It’s been cooking for about 10 hours.

I has a nom.

I also picked up a couple of video games for Calvin, and a couple of DVD’s for when we’re Olympic-ed out. The latest Harold and Kumar, and Doomsday – both the “unrated” versions, which means there will probably be boobies, which means Calvin Will Be Pleased.

In the midst of it all, we have this on near-constant rotation. Our new musical obsession.

So, in light of that, and in celebration of Friday and all its Olympic Goodness, I leave you with this. Have a great weekend, everyone!!!

Comments
  1. Jayne says:

    I’ll pass on the beer if you don’t mind but the music’s great and the dinner sounds wonderful. Can I come ’round at about 8?? 😉

  2. Laura says:

    Jayne – You are welcome any time, day or night. The ride over’s a bit much, though. ~grin~

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    Damn, now I’m hungry, and it’s not even 9am!

  4. Laura says:

    TB – Chips and dip are my NEMISIS. Nemisii? Nemisisses?

Leave a Reply

