Briefly.

Posted: August 7, 2008 in work

Hellew.

Work has exploded around me in a very violent manner. For the next few weeks I’ll be indulging in system testing for two different programs with terrifyingly lock-stepped schedules. I’m at a satellite AcronymCo site, far away from my desk and my maps and my feng-shui (or however the hell you spell it – I’m too lazy to look it up right now). Everything in the bathroom is about three inches too tall. It’s off-putting.

They fed us pizza today, though, so that’s good.

I’m thrown off my schedule, though. My routine. You all recall how important that is to me, yes? Well, I’m eating all wrong, and sitting in front of test case scenarios all day long makes me strangely wiped out by the end of the day, so the LAST thing I feel like doing is working out. My in-box is piling up and stressing me out, and of COURSE testing is somewhat the opposite of smooth.

The folks I’m testing with – about fifteen others in this “brickyard”, and another group at the Oregon site – are really nice. And the lead dude made sure we were made as comfortable as possible – snacks are provided, and stress-relieving toys (stress balls, ball paddles, nerf stuff) for when we’re ready to throw our computers against the wall.

Next week will be more normal for me – I’ll be back at my desk, though still testing for at least fifty percent of the time. At least I’ll be able to bring my lunch again, and visit with Jen. Blog writing may still be sporadic, though, since I’ve been going NON STOP from the moment my heiney hits the seat until someone says, “Hey! It’s almost five!”

Be good, kids. Your regularly scheduled programming will return shortly.

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    I’ll admit – those too-tall bathroom things would screw me up bigtime.

    Do yo’ thang, we’ll be here! Won’t we, interwebs? Oh, yes, preciouss.

  2. Amanda says:

    We’ll miss you!

  3. Jayne says:

    I’m going into withdrawal already! Come back quickly…won’t you?

  4. Dawn says:

    We’ll be here, waiting! Take care of yourself, woman.

  5. Laura says:

    All – You guys are funny. It’s not like I’m going on a tour of the world or getting shipped to Siberia or anything… 😀

  6. Jen says:

    weekend updates?

    Acheron is like 2 books. one book is all about his past, and the second book is your standard dark hunter romance. it was pretty good!

  7. Laura says:

    Jen – Geez, I think you read even faster than ME.

Leave a Reply

