Date night.

Posted: August 2, 2008 in Arizona, Drama, health, Journal, weekend

Last night started out really great.

As I’d intended, once I got home from work after running errands, I worked out, then soaked in a bubble bath with a glass of wine and my iTunes playing on shuffle, for a good solid hour.  Oz and Zoe came in every now and then to critique my singing by poking their noses over the edge of the tub and speaking their opinions.

Calvin napped while I got myself ready to go out, then pulled himself together in a brief half-hour (I’m always jealous of that).  We left at a little after seven and set out to find some dinner.  After discussion, we decided against Rula Bula.  The fish and chips that had sounded Divine a few days earlier just didn’t quite sound the thing once we set out.

Now, we eat out a lot.  A LOT.  While not good for our budget (or my waistline), it’s kind of the habit we’ve fallen into since we don’t have kids to cook for very much anymore.  Anyway, it seemed to us that we’ve been to ALL of the restaurants near us too recently to want to go again.  Then Calvin recalled our very favorite Italian restaurant, Lo Cascios. It was in the basic direction we needed to go in, so we put Heather’s mix CD’s in the tray for the ride over.

I ADORE this place. It’s small and authentic and managed by the owner, who looks like she could have been a consultant for The Sopranos. It’s also a little pricey, so it’s good for a treat or a date or some other special occasion. Calvin ordered their PERFECT chicken marsala, and I ordered the cannelloni, which turned out to be the best I’ve ever had. We had salads before our entrees, and some REALLY good toasted sesame bread. He had an Italian beer and I had a glass of chardonnay (though I should have ordered a merlot or cab, considering I had meat-stuffed pasta pipes with red sauce). And, of course, we indulged in our usual entertaining conversation.

After our meal, we still had a good half-hour or forty-five minutes to kill. We hit a bar – Calvin had a beer and I had a White Russian. It was pretty warm in the bar – they had the a/c going but also had all the doors to the outside and the patio open. Which is just plain stupid, if you ask me.

We left there, and things started to go rather downhill.

We had tickets to see Gabriel Iglesias at the Tempe Improv. Will-call rules dictate that you get there at least a half-hour before the scheduled start of the show (so, 9:30), get your tickets and your bracelet, then go up a flight of stairs. Everyone stands along the second-story walkway in the line formed in front of the entrance to wait for the earlier show to get out and the club to be cleaned up. Now, in most states standing outdoors in line at almost 10:00 at night would not represent a problem. But not in our beloved Arizona. Oh heck naw.

We started to get severely overheated in very short order. We got there right at 9:30, and ended up standing in line until 10:15. Right away I started to “glow”. Then that “glow” turned into a trickle of perspiration there, a trickle there. THEN I started to just plain SWEAT.

Suddenly my heart started pounding, and I started to shake. I got really sick to my stomach, and light headed. I honest to GOD thought I was going to pass out. And I’m SO not the swooning type. I closed my eyes and concentrated on my breathing to keep the nausea at bay. But every time I closed my eyes, I’d get vertigo. I started to get really, really dizzy.

I told Calvin, “I think I’m going to be sick.” He looked askance at me – he was obviously hot, but it wasn’t making him sick. He was just irritated, as was the rest of the crowd, and uncomfortable. It was 103 degrees according to the thermometer in the truck when we drove up. Standing in the middle of a crowd had to hike that temperature up quite a bit more. Plus, it being monsoon season, the humidity was relatively high.

I had to leave Calvin in line, go back down the stairs, and sit at the bottom with my head between my knees. I’m sure I must have been a spectacle, but at that point I was SO past caring. I concentrated on my breathing. The sweat just poured off me – dripped off my nose, soaked my hair, dewed up on my arms and legs. Then, the sweating stopped, but I didn’t feel any cooler. In fact, I felt HOTTER. I figure I must have been severely dehydrated by that time.

I kept an eye on the club doors, and when they finally started letting people in, I got up, went back up the stairs, and found Calvin. It still seemed like an ETERNITY before we were seated – Calvin went to the men’s room right away and came back with damp paper towels for me. Then it was another eternity before we were waited on. In fact, the show started before we got our drinks – the show is sold out all this weekend and all next weekend, so the wait staff was having a hard time keeping up. I ordered a bottled water, a Sprite, and a cup of ice – I couldn’t stomach the thought of alcohol at that point (NOT normal, for me!). Calvin had several beers over the course of the show.

I don’t really remember much of the three opening routines – my ears were buzzing, I was still sick to my stomach and dizzy, and the ice water wasn’t working fast enough to cool me off. Plus, I think the a/c was overloaded in the club, because it never really did get cool enough to be comfortable. I guess there was something wrong with the sound system, too, because Calvin kept asking me if I understood what the comedians were saying. I thought it was just the buzzing in my ears, but apparently they were sounding muffled.

Once the headliner came up on stage, I started to feel a little bit better. It was a fun enough show, but not the best time I’ve ever had at the Improv. I think the performers were suffering with the heat, as well. It really was just plain miserable.

The show wrapped up a bit after midnight, and we got out ahead of the crowd. I was still feeling rather light headed, but Calvin had had several beers so I opted to drive home. He actually fell asleep on the way home, which is just tribute to how exhausting the heat was. We got home, stripped as fast as we could, and got into a shower that would not get cool enough (case in point, the water in the summertime is so warm that I only ran the water for my bath from the cold water tap, and it was still warmer than I wanted my bath to be).

We finally collapsed in bed at nearly 1:00 in the morning, with the a/c cranked and two fans on high. I tossed and turned and had a lot of strange dreams that caused me to keep waking up. Calvin slept like a log in the same position all night long.

I didn’t get up until nearly 11:00 this morning, and I still feel kind of off. I’m drinking water and iced tea like it’s going out of style, and Calvin and I are watching the US Olympic swimming and Men’s Gymnastics trials.

I don’t plan on moving around all that much today.

Comments
  1. Jeanette says:

    I was suprised to see the name of that restaurant you went to, Lo Cascios because that is my maiden name and I don’t see it very often. My brother is going to be in Scottsdale in December and I am going to have him look it up. I got your mixed CD today. It’s wonderful and thank you so much for sending it to me! Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

  2. Jayne says:

    I *feel* your pain. I cannot handle heat at all and would much rather be cold than hot any day – at least when you’re cold you can put on more layers, when you’re hot and you’ve peeled down to bare skin, that’s it. 104 at night is horrible, as is warm water from the cold tap (no respite therefore). Standing in a crowded place in high heat? Almost a nightmare scenario for me. I can imagine I’d have felt almost claustrophobic. I was complaining about the poor, cool, grey weather here yesterday. Now, somehow, I don’t feel so bad.
    It just wasn’t your day was it? Today’s just *got* to be better.

  3. Kim says:

    As I said in my comment yesterday – August! Evil! I actually got uncomfortable reading that story. I spent last weekend in Savannah sightseeing with a friend and that was the dumbest idea ever. I was red, sweaty and close to heat stroke most of the day. I’m not in the best shape, could lose 10 to 15 pounds or so, but still, I’m in my 30’s. It’s ridiculous. I feel your pain.
    Also – got my crack and peace pipes yesterday and it made the hot walk to the mailbox worth it! Thank you, I can’t wait to hear some of the songs I don’t know and Click Click Boom is my favorite driving-in-traffic rage song! You rock.

  4. Laura says:

    Jeanette – It’s a great little restaurant, I highly recommend it! Hope you like the CD!

    Jayne – Yeah, I’d rather be cold than hot, too. My crazy husband begs to differ. I prefer to forget that Friday – the entire day – ever happened. Dammit.

    Kim – GAH. Heat and humidity is an AWFUL combination. So I feel your pain back atcha. Hope you enjoy the CD’s!

  5. Taoist Biker says:

    Okay, this is another time in which I will concede your heat vs. cold point. Standing in line for half a frickin’ hour? MAN that’s crazy!

    We got our CD’s also – enjoying ’em so far!

  6. Jean says:

    Oh. my. gawd! I love the CDs!!!!!! The graphics on the label were too good, missy!!!

    I want to make one of my faves for you, now!!!

  7. Laura says:

    TB – Good, I’m glad!

    Jean – ~grin~ I had fun with the label.

Leave a Reply

