“That” guy.

Posted: July 30, 2008 in bitching, work

In every meeting I’ve ever attended, there’s always “that” guy. The one that questions every point in the presentation. The one that keeps going back to discussions held previously. The one who derails things and won’t just sit and listen. The one who’s questions will be answered if he’d just SHUT UP until the end of the presentation.

I’m in the 27th minute of a one hour teleconference, with attendees from the US and Asia. “That” guy has forced discussion on slide #3 (of 26) for the past twenty minutes.

I’m ready to MDK “that” guy. Just as soon as I get funds authorization for the trip to Asia.

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    Not only is That Guy in every meeting I’ve ever been to, he’s also in every class I’ve ever been in. I pray someday I’m going to have the balls to tell him off.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    The presenter needs to say “It seems that this particular point is a point of contention; let’s set that aside for now, plow through the rest, and either come back to this if we have time. If not, we can try to hash it out over email and then decide if we need to meet again.”

    Personally, one thing that has annoyed the SHIT out of me was this one woman at a conference with a registration fee of $400+ who not only knitted during every presentation that I saw her in, but SAT IN THE FRONT ROW and did so. And not just once, but every presentation, and I saw the same woman at several other conferences in a 2 or 3 year span and she did the same damned thing.

    I mean, c’mon. I know some knitters are nutso and just have to be doing it, but at LEAST sit unobtrusively in the back. Nope. Front and center. I would have paused in my talk and asked if I should talk more softly so as not to distract her. Sheesh. I wonder if her employer knew they spent probably $1000-1500 on registration, hotel, and airfare for her to catch up on Aunt Mary’s sweater vest.

  3. Heather says:

    Ugh…what a drag. No one likes That Guy. I hope I’m never That Guy in a meeting…I wonder if I have been and just don’t know it? 🙂 Anyway, I’m still fairly new where I work but I told our That Guy to “LET IT GO!” recently during a meeting where the President, two VP’s and the entire sales staff was present. Everyone was making the “oh jeez” faces when he would open his mouth but no one was saying anything to shut him up. Well, apparently that’s where my mild form of Tourette’s comes in handy.

    I hope you are not stuck on slide 3 for the entire teleconference!

    [TB] Knitting/gaming/reading material not related to the conference subject/texting/talking on the phone at a conference is just plain RUDE!

  4. Jen says:

    When in classes with Bobby, sometimes, HE IS THAT GUY.
    But I still love him.

  5. Laura says:

    Kim – All the other attendees will appreciate it when you do, trust me!

    TB – You’ve GOT to be kidding me. I’ve presented and taught classes enough that I’m jaded to that kind of behavior. I’ve told people to shut their laptops and stop working while I’m talking. I’ve requested people to, HI, stop snoring and open your eyes (I didn’t take it personally, even I was bored by what I had to present). I’ve asked for “one meeting” when too many side conversations started happening. So, yeah. If someone had the temerity to KNIT I’d take one of their needles and poke ’em with it.

    Heather – Will you come work with me, please? 😀 We did get beyond slide three, but we went twenty minutes over the alloted hour and never did get to the end. Le sigh.

    Jen – It’s doubtful that we’d be sitting in the same sessions, so I have no cause to grump at him.

Leave a Reply

