Dark and twisty

Posted: July 29, 2008 in Humiliations galore, Journal, Memory Lane, misc

I used to run a short-story collaboration called “Storyteller”, whereby I posted a topic once a month, and the collab participants would submit stories based on that topic. I’d publish them on my website and we’d discuss them. I wish it was still going on, but it didn’t garner enough interest or momentum to continue. Still, all the entries and contributions remain out there in the ether for our entertainment.

I just re-read this one that I wrote back in September of ’05 in response to the topic, “The one that got away.” What a dark and twisty piece of work it is! It’s funny, I don’t remember actually writing it. I don’t remember the writing process of any of my short stories, they’re just there. I did them, got the idea out of my head and onto “paper”, then promptly forgot about them.

Weird.

In the re-reading of them, my fingers itch to polish them up a bit. But I’m going to leave them alone. They’re done. They reflect the writing style and headspace that I had/was in at the time. I think I’m going to try my hand at another short story sometime soon, and see if I still have the knack of it. I used to write them all the time, for my own entertainment. I still have all the word docs, and earlier hand-written stuff from back in the late 80’s and early 90’s, back when I first discovered an urge to write fiction. I used to get ideas for stories all the time. Not so much, lately.

Really, the first time that I recall having to write a story because its concept loudly occupied my brain and wouldn’t leave me alone until I got it OUT, was in eighth grade (GAH… bravely dating myself, that would be circa 1987-1988). I still have it, written long-hand for an English assignment. It’s hidden in my bedroom closet and it’s going to STAY there.

Prose-type reality style journaling and blogging has been the main fixture of my writing since the first grade. It’s fun (and good for one’s writing skills) to occasionally exercise my brain in a different way.

Here, have a laugh at these other gems:

Untitled – February 2001.

It Could Have Been– April 2001. (GAH. Actually, don’t read that one.)

Gamepieces – June 2001.

The Awakening – January 2002. (Actually, I kind of like this one.)

Summer Wind Gods – March 2002. (Obviously I was homesick when I wrote this one.)

Oh, the humanity.

Comments
  1. Amanda says:

    Personally, I am quite sad that Storyteller went by the way-side. If ever you get a hankering to start her up again, let me know!

  2. Jean says:

    Laura, I meant to write a few days ago and let you know that I sent a link to your entry about GAD to a dear friend that’s just beginning that awful journey. I am struggling to find a way to help her (is there anything, as a friend, that I can do???), but I wanted to let you know how much she related to that post and how relieved she felt to know that she’s not alone, other people ‘manage’ those feelings. She’s going to a female endocrinologist soon and hopes to get some kind of relief for the obvious trauma this is causing her and her family.

    Just wanted to tell you thanks for sharing that. I can’t even begin to imagine what it would be like – I’ve been known to pursue, er, um, substances that make me feel wired like that, but she can’t turn it off.

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    Very nice, actually. And I admit that I like the idea of a fiction-writing theme. I can’t say that I’d be able to write on any given theme, but I’d bet there are a few that I could take as a challenge and run with. If you ever cranked it up again, I’d maybe not be an everyday contributor, but I’d be a contributor.

    Good thing I didn’t know about it in 01-02, though. Bad years for me, and the few things I have that I did write (mostly for the game I admin’ed) were dark, dark, dark.

  4. Kim says:

    I’d LOVE to be part of this!
    I’m taking a creative writing course this fall and I’m a little (by a little I mean a lot) rusty. I hope you start this back – I didn’t know about it the first time around!

  5. Laura says:

    Amanda – You were the only one participating, in the end! 😀 How goes the book?

    Jean – All I can say is, just be sympathetic and understanding when The Crazy takes her over. I know I have my manic days and Jen here at work just kind of deals with it and still sticks around, which I’m grateful for. I’m really glad I could be of some help. Please give my e-mail addy to your friend and let her know she can contact me at any time if she’d like to talk.

    TB – Thanks! I may start it up again and see where it goes – it wasn’t a daily thing, but a monthly contribution. I don’t think I could write a short story a day!

    Kim – I’ll let you know if and when I do!

  6. Amanda says:

    Laura – oy, the book. Not going very well. If I could only find a way to add a few extra hours into my day, it’d be great. But, speaking of my book, I should go do some chores so that MAYBE I can do some work on it 🙂

Leave a Reply

