Grateful.

Posted: July 23, 2008 in Calvin, Family, Friends, Headspace, Uncategorized

I’m grateful for my friends. Heather, who’s voicemail I just listened to, and who’s voice made me smile. Dawn and Kami, who sent me lovely happy birthday wishes. Jayne, who sent me a wonderful card and yet another mix CD to add to my collection. Kim, who’s birthday is five days after mine and who always remembers to call me. Jen, who really REALLY gets me. I’m also grateful for the friends that I haven’t listed here, because they know I haven’t forgotten them and it’s nothing personal (a worry I always have when I list friends or bloggers I read or whatever).

I’m grateful for my husband. He teases me out of my blues, makes me laugh until I cry, and loves me for who I am.  He participates in my life, is interested in what I do, and encourages me to write.  He cares about my on-line life and gets why I need to do this (I love love love it when he comments, and I still wish he’d start a blog of his own).

I am grateful for my readers. I have “met” so many wonderful people and have been exposed to so many spectacular writers. I have “virtual friendships” that are every bit as fulfilling as those friendships I have in person.  I have gained support, encouragement, advice, and solidarity. I completely enjoy this vast, ongoing, Great Conversation.

I’m grateful for the blogs and on-line journals that I read. Through them I am entertained, but primarily I am encouraged to think and to feel. Even the blogs that are hard, emotionally, to read – those who talk about their grief, their illness, their loss. I am reminded of the fragile nature of life, the delicate state of happiness. I am taught how to have strength of will. I am given growth of character, nourishment of spirit, and the appreciation of the life I live. I am enriched more than I can explain, through these glimpses of lives not my own.

I am grateful for the mundane aspects of my life – my job, my routine, my chores. That I can complain about the mundane means that I am healthy in body and mind. My relationship is secure, my family is happy. I have a home and money to pay the bills. My needs are met, so that I can fuss about my wants.

I am grateful for the person I am, the lessons I have learned, and the upbringing that I experienced, that allows me to understand just what it means to be grateful.

Comments
  1. K says:

    You are SOOOOOO welcome! Have the hap-hap-happiest of B-days!
    Say “hey” to the Mr. for me!

  2. Amanda says:

    Happy Birthday Laura!!

  3. Jayne says:

    Glad the CD made it there. After I read of Heather’s going walkabout for a silly amount of time I had my doubts!
    I hope you had a lovely birthday. x

  4. Jen says:

    and noes just how much of a crazy fan girl you REALLY are!
    🙂
    I’m glad ur around. :p

  5. […] another note, I got some good lovin’  here and here over at Laura’s if you want to take a peek. She’s the […]

  6. Taoist Biker says:

    Much wuv and gratitude right back at ya, lady.

    I’ve figured out by your birthday announcement that you’re about half a year younger than me, so feel free to rub it in. There, that’s your birthday gift from me. 😀

Leave a Reply

