Heather

Posted: July 22, 2008 in best things, Friends

Let me tell you about my friend Heather.

(And I just went to her site to grab her URL for this link and discovered that SHE had just written an entry about ME… how’s THAT for a coincidence?)

She has taken friendship to the level of fine art. I fully confess that she’s a better friend to me than I am to her – she’s just plain good at friendship in general. She sends me cards and e-mails and text messages and calls me “just because”, far FAR more often than I do her. It makes me feel guilty and lucky at the same time.

A couple of weeks ago she made me a mix cd and tried to send it express so that I would have it sooner than later. I got the delivery notice from the post office, signed the card and taped it to my front door for them to deliver on their “second attempt”, and they never came back. I went to the post office, it wasn’t there. Heather called eleventy-billion people, they said it was at the post office, I went again, and it still wasn’t there. It was supposed to go back to Heather after five days of non-delivered status, it never went back.

Yesterday, FINALLY, the post office delivered the package. It was a box. A box, I thought? For one mix CD?

HAH.

She sent me SIX. SIX mix CD’s of songs that she hand-picked for me. Complete with track lists. AND a full-page letter, hand-written (a lost art form in and of itself), front and back, for EACH CD, listing each song and what it means to her or why she picked it or just a funny little note to me. You guys, this must have taken her HOURS to do. And she did it just because she loves me.

I love her back. I’m so lucky she’s my friend. She’s DAMN good at it.

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    I’ve come to the conclusion that the two of you both rock.

    And I resolve never to be in a room with you for fear of dissolving in the face of such terminal awesomeness. 😀

  2. farmwife says:

    That is sooo cool! 🙂

  3. Jeanette says:

    What a great friendship and a belated Happy Birthday!

  4. Calvin says:

    I have to say I agree with you 100%.
    BTW I noticed the box had a date on it for the 1st delivery attempt which was 7/1 and you finally got it on the 21st.

  5. rai says:

    First off, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Second off, good people find good people.

    Third off, your tag line. It is awesome.

  6. Jayne says:

    That’s really sweet. To have even one such friend in life is a blessing.
    This is also something of a coincidence (she said cryptically….)! Oh dear, your post office is a stinker. 😦

  7. Heather says:

    Awww!!! The love!!!! 🙂

  8. Laura says:

    TB – Aww, shucks. As for your fears of being in the same room with us, ask Calvin about that… he gets teased to death when we get to gang up on him. Heh.

    Farmwife – Yes! It is!

    Jeanette – I’m blessed, and thanks!

    Calvin – Even though Heather tortures you (perhaps because of), you feel the love. Also, TWENTY DAYS does not “express” make.

    Rai – First off, thanks! Second off, hi good person! Third off, I heart Wash. Also? DAMN YOU, JOSS WHEDON.

    Jayne – You. Are. Awesome.

    Heather – ~mwah~

  9. […] another note, I got some good lovin’  here and here over at Laura’s if you want to take a […]

Leave a Reply

