Movie meme

Posted: June 10, 2008 in meme, movies

I wrote the next installment of Our Story, but you will have to wait for The Man to get home from work and approve it before I post it. Not because I’m not allowed to post it without his prior approval, but because I wish his feedback in case I’ve forgotten something. You guys don’t want a bunch of “and another thing”‘s following each entry, trust me. In the meantime (and since I have another hour to kill at work during which I do NOT feel like being productive), have some fun with a meme that I shamelessly stole from Taoist Biker.

1. One movie that made you laugh: “Animal House”. I died, DIED, I tell you, when Bluto (Belushi’s character) took that fruity guy’s guitar and smashed it (“I gave my love a cherry…” BLANNNGGGG!!! “Sorry.”). And when D-Day rode his motorcycle up the stairs and snapped out the William Tell Overature on his throat. And, “They took the bar! The whole fucking bar!” And:

“Holy shit!”
“There were blanks in that gun!”
“I didn’t even point the gun at him!”
“Holy shit!”
“There WERE blanks in that gun!”
“Maybe he had a heart attack.”
“Holy shit!”

I’m also terribly, terribly fond of “The Blues Brothers”. It must be a Belushi thing. “We’re on a mission from God.” (Though that’s always said by Aykroyd.)

2. One movie that made you cry: Oh geez, that would be “What Dreams May Come”. I bawl… not cry, not get teary-eyed, I BAWL every time I watch that movie.

3. One movie you loved when you were a child: Two, that I would ask to rent over and over and over: “The Parent Trap” (the REAL one with Hayley Mills) and “Swiss Family Robinson”.

4. One movie you’ve seen more than once: Heh. “Ferris Beuller’s Day Off”. I can quote it from beginning to end, with tone and inflection accurately portrayed. “Pardon my French, but Cameron is so tight that if you stuck a lump of coal up his ass, in two weeks you’d have a diamond.” See also, “The Princess Bride”, and “While You Were Sleeping.”

5. One movie you loved, but were embarrassed to admit it: “The Goonies”. The best Sean Astin’s ever been, IMHO. And yes, I did love LoTR, so close your e-mails.

6. One movie you hated: “Ballistic: Ecks vs. Sever”. That’s two hours of my life I’ll never get back.

7. One movie that scared you: “Descent”. Trapped in a cave with no light and creatures grabbing at you. EEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHGGGGGGGGGG.

8. One movie that bored you: Um… well, one that comes to mind that I saw kind of recently was “Children of Men”. I just couldn’t finish it.

9. One movie that made you happy: “Love, Actually”. In my mind, just about as perfect as a movie gets.

10. One movie that made you miserable: All of the “new” Star Wars. I couldn’t stand the kid that played Anakin in the first one, and I HATE HAYDEN CHRISTENSEN WITH THE FIREY HOT PASSION OF A THOUSAND BURNING SUNS.

11. One movie you weren’t brave enough to see: None? I prefer to see scary movies at home so I can pretend to have to go to the bathroom when the scary jumpy bits come up.

12. One movie character you’ve fallen in love with: The Dread Pirate Roberts.

13. The last movie you saw: “Death at a Funeral”, at home. I can’t for the life of me remember the last movie Calvin and I saw at the theater. One of those that you want to see on the big screen because of the effects, though.

14. The next movie you hope to see: “Prince Caspian”, “Iron Man”, “Zohan”, “Kung-Fu Panda”, and the new “Indiana Jones”.

Comments
  1. Amanda says:

    Oh, but “Children of Men” was really good!

  2. Kim says:

    I know you’re a big reader, but not sure if you ever go for biographies. If so, get “Belushi” by Judith Belushi Pisano, NEVER “Wired” by Bob Woodward. The book looks like a gorgeous coffee table book with beautiful pictures, but is also the amazing story of his life, their life and his career, and even though I knew the ending, I still cried when it happened. And yes, I’m a Belushi fan in case you couldn’t tell.

  3. fishdreamer says:

    I saw Ballistic: Ecks vs. Sever and was really disappointed. Hi, why the versus? That is not what happened. It could have been a good movie, but it sucked. I blame the director.

    Love Blues Brothers. Love. And I need to see Love Actually one of these days soon.

  4. Heather says:

    I loved Hayden Christenson in “Life As A House”. 🙂

  5. Calvin says:

    Your right I had forgotten about “Life As A House”. But then i’m a fan of Kevin Klien.
    Casting is more difficult than we probably give it credit.
    I think it’s interesting when you hear after a movie is out (and it was good or you liked it) that they “wanted” someone else to play a certian part than who got the part and you think that would not have worked for me.

Leave a Reply

