Saturday morning.

Posted: June 7, 2008 in best things, Journal, weekend

I adore Saturday mornings. It’s lovely to know the weekend is stretching before us, I didn’t have to wake up with the alarm this morning, I can enjoy a leisurely cup of coffee (or two) while putting the grocery list together and surfing the net, and I am entertained by Calvin’s pithy comments as he reads the paper on the couch next to me.

Plus, there’s the Formula racing on SPEED. Quals in Montreal. I’m a Hamilton fan.

We will be eating QUITE well this week. I’m kicking off our re-determination to “eat out only once a week”. We’ll see how long it lasts THIS time. We can’t be spending the money on the food OR the gas, and we always seem to end up buying groceries AND eating out, which is just retarded. Since Saturday is reserved for a celebratory restaurant visit (one of our anniversaries, more on that later in the week), I have meals planned from tonight through next Friday night.

I’m leaning heavily on Pioneer Woman’s recipes this week, looking for something new. We’ll be having her chicken and bacon sandwiches, the pan-fried ribeye steak, and a batch of spicy shrimp.

Let me know if you plan on stopping in for dinner, so we don’t eat it all before you get here.

On an AWESOME note, Marie handed me an envelope yesterday afternoon. She inherits the COMPLETE INABILITY to wait for a person’s birthday before giving them their present, from me. The envelope read, “For one Mrs. Laura, on the day of her birth. Happy Birthday!” And when I opened it, I saw that she (and Calvin) had gotten me a pair of tickets to the upcoming George Michael concert. AWESOME seats, I might add. I am not ashamed at ALL to confess that I let out a, “SQUEE!” And hugged her, like, seven times. The concert is on June 22nd, and my birthday isn’t until July 20th, so she really had a reason to give me the present early. Really.

At least, that’s how I would justify it.

On an undecided note, I got my hair colored and cut yesterday. The cut is fine (long layers put back into my formerly single-length hair), but I’m not sure about the color yet. I wanted to go back to my natural brunette coloring, after being blonde-ish for a few years. I chose a color from the palette that I thought looked close to my natural color. Oh lordy, did I get brunette. It’s so solid dark it’s almost GOTH. It’s not QUITE black, but you can’t tell from a distance. I’m not sure if I like it yet. And I’m QUITE sure it’s not the color I chose from the palette. Calvin’s not freaking out, though, so I guess it’s not THAT bad. I startle myself every time I look in the mirror, though. (Readers: “More so than usual?” Laura: “Hush, you.”)

Finally, if you have yet to see “Death at a Funeral”, you really ought to go out and get it right now and plan a movie night this very evening. Especially if you’re a fan of Alan Tudyk(the guy that played Wash on “Serenity/Firefly”). His British accent is so good that I had to double-check IMDB to confirm that he is, in actuality, a Texan. And he is, of course, hysterical. Also! If you liked Matthew Mcfayden as Mr. Darcy in “Pride and Prejudice”, you’ll be interested to observe him in this very DIFFERENT role. It took me a minute to place where I’d seen him before, in fact.

(On a non-English major note, do I put quotes around the titles of the movies, or the names of the characters, in the paragraph above? I always mess that up.)

So! That’s the news. Hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend!

Comments
  1. maryanne says:

    I love George Michael too!! and do we get to see pics of your new hair?
    please?! =)

  2. LauraH says:

    Hair stylist chiming in with her 2 pennies. Sometimes, on hair that has been lightened several times, a color will “grab”. That means it will color the hair darker than how it appeared on the ring. Usually the color will fade a bit over time. And George Michael? I was going to marry him once upon a time…

  3. Megan says:

    Please! I second the motion for pics.
    Be careful going out in the Arizona sun with that dark hair! You might just burst into flame. (Have you ever worn a black T-shirt into the 117 degree sunshine? Picture wrapping that heat magnet around your head…I speak from experience.)

Leave a Reply

