Anger management (not).

Posted: June 5, 2008 in bitching, Headspace, Music

I am SO not cut out for cubicle life today. Once again I donned my headphones in self defense. Or perhaps on behalf of the folks that are driving me nuts. Certainly if I did not they would be strangled unto death with their telephone cords.

I. Can. Still. Hear. Them. And I’ve got the volume turned up to approaching the unbearable. I REALLY need to replace my Shur sound cancelling earbuds. Thank the Good Lord for my “favorites” playlist (which is added to and deleted from on a near-daily basis, so a more accurate name would be “favorites – for now”).

Many days I can actually deal with the lack of privacy, constant noise, unwilling bombardment of other people’s mundane details as they hold “cube meetings” and teleconferences, odors of other people’s (NASTY) lunches, and people just in my blessed way All. The. Time.

However. There are days when working in this vast sea of six-foot-tall roof-less boxes PISSES ME RIGHT OFF. Today is one of those days.

My FORTUNE (such as it is) for a mile long beach, bare feet in the sand, and the sight and smell of the endless Atlantic. My KINGDOM (all 2300 square feet of it) for a wide open field full of tall grasses and flowers, a bright blue sky full of puffy white clouds, and the sound of NOTHING but the breeze and the birds.

I am so FUCKING homesick.

Comments
  1. Miss Britt says:

    You need to get Pink. The album with “Leave me the fuck alone” or something like that.

  2. Heather says:

    Okay, I gotta say it…”On The Dark Side” is by John Cafferty and the Beaver Brown Band. Yes, from the movie “Eddie and the Cruisers” but not BY them.

    Aaaahhh. I feel much, much better now. Don’t look at me like that you know how I am about this stuff.

  3. Crys says:

    wow, i think i saw marky mark and the funky bunch on that list

  4. Taoist Biker says:

    Woo to “On The Dark Side!”

    We all have those days. I love having an office with a door now, but I hate that my desk faces a window which faces outward into the hall. Could be worse, I suppose – I could have my back to the door like I did in my last job. That SUCKED.

    Despite a relatively good mood, I’ve been rocking my very heavy “Smash The World” disc in the car lately, and it’s been nice.

    Hmm. I’ll post a blog for you. One second.

  5. Jayne says:

    Oh my poor sweet. I do feel for you. I don’t do well around loads of other people at any time, so I do sympathise. As for home …Any chance of a (long)weekend back there? Justify the expense on mental health grounds. It’s Friday as I type this … I hope today will be better for you.

  6. Dianne says:

    I actually thought of you yesterday. I was in S.Portland for the funeral of a cousin and the get together after was on Preble Street and I could smell the ocean. I usually walk down to Willard Beach when I’m in S. Portland but couldn’t get away yesterday; so I settled for the smells and of course went back home with Italian sandwiches from Amatos.
    You really need to go back – even if it’s for a long weekend. I know it does me a world of good!

  7. Laura says:

    Miss Britt – Sounds like my kind of CD.

    Heather – Yes dear, I know. Soundtrack, Heather, Soundtrack.

    Crys – I cannot confirm nor deny those rumors.

    TB – Love the piano intro. I covet your door. Also? AWESOME song. But your version is better. ~grin~

    Jayne – I wish a long weekend were possible, but the expense is just too great. Air tickets and rental car and gas and lodging… the economy does not support weekend getaways, right now.

    Dianne – I’m so sorry for your loss. Do me a favor? Mail me an italian? 😀

  8. Taoist Biker says:

    Did you actually listen to the song? I didn’t necessarily recommend that…although it IS good for a really bad day. Fast, sloppy, and mean.

  9. Heather says:

    Fast, sloppy, mean…sounds like the boot to the face stuff I listen to! Hahaha 🙂

  10. Heather says:

    Oh…you inspired me. 😉

Leave a Reply

