Orders of Business

Posted: June 2, 2008 in 101 in 1001, Arizona, best things, books, Family, Journal

First order of business:

Calvin’s grandfather was in the hospital last week, and is now at home recovering from a pervasive and persistent infection. This follows Grandmother’s visit to the hospital about a month ago in which she had to have surgery on her leg, and prior to that surgery on her eye. They’ve both been in and out of the doctor’s office and the hospital AND the clinic AND have had home caregivers stopping by on occasion, pretty consistently over the past six months.

Calvin and I took lunch over to Grandfather and Grandmother last Saturday (hey, another 101 in 1001 down, huh!) – stuffed shells, the recipe for which will be shortly forthcoming. We had a lovely little visit but didn’t want to stay to terribly long. They’re such wonderful people that the world is a better place because of them. I hate how all the medical stuff just seems to be piling up on them lately. Poor little old people.

After our visit with the g-rents, Calvin and myself, his middle sister and her husband went to a brewery for a couple of beers and SEVERAL mojitos. A giggly time was had by half (cuz the men-folk don’t giggle, now, do they – or not so’s they’d admit). We hardly ever hang out with them, but every time we do we’re reminded of why we like them so much. That, and they’re of the half of the remaining family members that actually like US, still. Thank the Good Lord.

Second order of business:

If you haven’t read Tasha Alexander’s Emily Ashton books, you’re missing out. I’ve read all three and they’re listed as 9/10 on my book list. Considering how the ONLY 10/10 book I have ever had on the list is Old Mans War(and if you haven’t read THAT yet, clearly you have been living a very deprived life in a cave somewhere in Syberia), to get a score of nine is clearly excellent.

They’re categorized as mystery/thrillers, they’re set in Victorian England with a (obviously) female protagonist, they’re historically accurate, and they’re NOT Harlequin. Or smutty. In fact, there’s only a little kissing and nary a heaving bosom in sight! Imagine.

Third order of business:

The ASU Sun Devils Womens Softball team is in the World Series Finals. At this second in time, it’s the bottom of the 5th in the first game of three, and we’re up by two. In case you didn’t know (which I didn’t until a couple of days ago), they only play seven innings.

Girlz Rewl. Woops, and they just got another run!  Throw a goat, people!

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    Hope the g-rents feel better.

    I’d read the books, but looking at the covers makes me afraid that I’d ovulate or something.

  2. maryanne says:

    mmmmm mojitos!
    I hope the grandparent’s feel better soon, they sound wonderful. I miss mine.

  3. Heather says:

    I’m with T-Biker. (After the Laurell K Hamilton debacle, you are no longer allowed to give me book referrals!) Heehee 😉

  4. Jen says:

    I would ask to borrow the first one, but I really am going to read Blood Noir first.

  5. Laura says:

    TB – You might, yes. And thanks for the well-wishes.

    Maryanne – I confess I’ve never had one. And I miss mine, too.

    Heather – Funny you should mention her, Jen and I are going to a book signing tonight.

    Jen – But that should only take you a couple of hours!

Leave a Reply

