Your Opportunity to BOSS ME AROUND.

Posted: May 17, 2008 in Halp, Journal, misc, Readers Choice

I have a couple of days off next week. I’m taking off the Thursday and Friday before the holiday on Monday (Memorial Day, for my non-US reader friends). I intend to sleep in, do some housework, write some more Calvin-oriented entries, and then… ? No specific plans.

Which is where YOU come in.

Which activity would you like me to document in a photography and blogging extravaganza? I’ll take as many votes as can be amassed by 12:00 midnight MST Wednesday May 21st. Once the votes are in, I’ll actually do what you tell me to do. This is your GOLDEN OPPORTUNITY to boss me around!

So. Here are your choices:

  1. A day at the Phoenix Art Museum (photography where permitted).
  2. A tour of Mill Avenue.
  3. A tour of Old Town Scottsdale.
  4. A day at the Phoenix Zoo (previously documented at this site in the past, but always fun).
  5. A day at the Desert Botanical Garden (also thoroughly documented in the past, but always a nice place to visit).
  6. Another suggestion of your choice that I may be convinced to partake in.

Leave your votes in the comments!

Comments
  1. Ryan says:

    #2 or #5 sound like they would be interesting. Whatever you decide on, please make sure you take lots of pictures.

  2. Kim says:

    #6 A day at Arizona Speedway with you partaking in the Richard Petty Driving Experience, you won’t regret it, I’ll be surprised if it’s not offered. I haven’t read you entry about frogs, but they are out in full force tonight. The loons are also calling and staying relatively close to the camp. The boats are out, too. See, you just have to come back. Take care.

  3. Frank says:

    I’ll vote for the Mill Street Tour.

  4. maryanne says:

    Mill Avenue or Scottsdale both look like lots of fun =)

  5. Kim says:

    I’d like Mill Ave or Scottsdale too!

  6. Taoist Biker says:

    Of those choices, Scottsdale – because that’s the only place I’ve been and so the only place I could really relate to.

    Of the “other”… Motorcycle. Mountains.

  7. Heather says:

    Since you’ve already done the botanical garden and the zoo, I’d say why do them again? Personally, Old Town Scottsdale is boring and just about every visitor I took there felt the same way (they would then make me take them to Rawhide and seemed to like that much better). Mill would be interesting if you went on a Friday night when Rocky Horror is playing at the theatre by Rula Bula and the street is crawling with people, otherwise…not so much. So, of the choices, I’d say the museum.

    However, I’d love to see you do one of those “follow us through a normal day” entries where you take more pictures of YOU than of stuff. Work that self timer! Hee…

    What about walking Squaw Peak (Piestewa, whatever!) or a Canyon Lake Dolly Steamboat tour? I’d say tubing on Salt River (one of the best things we ever did when I lived there), but you can’t take your good camera to document THAT, so nevermind! 🙂

  8. Jayne says:

    Well trust me to be out on a limb again (!)…I was going to say that I’d love to visit the arts museum with you but I suspect photography would be difficult. Failing that, my second vote would have gone to Mill Avenue, which sounds interesting. Then I read Heather’s comments and basically I’m with her. 🙂 Yeah! Some of that!!

    Seriously she has some great suggestions there, even the simplest ‘day in the life of’ is really good. (Heh…you didn’t ask for suggestions, did you)?!

    Whatever is decided, I really look forward to seeing the result.

  9. Jayne says:

    Silly me … you *did* ask for suggestions! Doh! Sorry, it’s getting late here. 😎

  10. Jean says:

    I vote with Heather – document a day in the life of Laura, with pictures of you as you go about your business!

  11. Amanda says:

    Actually, if I can make another request – continue the story about you and Calvin!!!

  12. Jeanette says:

    Old Town Scottsdale sounds interesting to me!

  13. Laura says:

    Ryan – Pictures are a given! 🙂

    Amanda (x2) – Thanks for your vote, and a new Calvin entry will be up tomorrow!

    Kim (x2) Hi there! Thanks for your vote. I heard about the RP driving school and have always wanted to check it out. I might do that for Calvin’s birthday coming up… wanna do it when the weather’s cooler! And you are making me SO HOMESICK. I’d love to see photos of your place…

    Frank – Noted, thanks!

    Maryanne – Noted, and every time I see your name in the comments I start humming the Frankie Valli song. I bet you get that a lot. 🙂

    TB – Motorcycle and mountains will be forthcoming soon! Calvin and I are planning on going up North one of these weekends…

    Heather – Now the steamboat thing is a great suggestion, I’ve always wanted to do that. Really I was thinking of something I could do not too far away from home on a day that I had off but Calvin still has to work. I’m planning a “day in the life” entry separate from this endeavor, so that’ll be forthcoming! As soon as I figure I’ve had a day interesting enought to document, that is. 🙂

    Jayne (x2) – Well, I DID ask for suggestions! I will be doing a “day in the life” soon. And I can take pics throughout much of the museum, just not the “specialty” exhibits that have limited engagements. I haven’t been in a while, so I might do that on top of whichever option wins the most votes.

    Jen – No kidding, huh? I can’t believe it’s ALREADY OVER A HUNDRED FUCKING DEGREES.

    Jean – Your wish shall soon be my command!

    Jeanette – Noted, thanks!

  14. Dawn says:

    Do you have a local raw sewage plant? Garbage dump site? Animal rendering plant?

    PAAAAHahaha I so totally kid. Just messin’ with you since you asked for suggestions. Snort.

  15. Lana says:

    I don’t care what you do… any ” day in the life of… ” no matter where you may be are interesting…

  16. Laura says:

    Dawn – Oh, the hars. My sides! Smartass. 🙂

    Lana – I will probably do a day in the life entry later in the weekend! Lots of people have asked for that one. Really, people, my life isn’t that interesting, but I’ll try to make it so!

  17. Heather says:

    Oh, Laura. You don’t have to make it interesting. Just a plain ol’ day. The most mundane things documented with pictures of YOU in them are going to be fun for people reading on the outside. My favorite photo entries are the ones that have pictures of you guys in them and my favorite written entries always seem to be the ones that have been somewhat difficult for you to write.

Leave a Reply

