Frog-sick

Posted: May 15, 2008 in best things, Home, Maine, Memory Lane

Good heavens above, I’m homesick.

The reason can be firmly blamed on the Maine Exile Products website (yes, we have a website dedicated to Mainers in Exile because that’s EXACTLY how we feel about living away from Maine). If you have your sound turned up on your computer and click on that link, you’ll soon understand.

No? I still have to explain? Okay.

What you were listening to (because you’re back now, you good little readers) are the sounds of “peepers” (with some crickets thrown in to fill out the whole experience). “Peepers” are frogs, and they certainly posses a nice, official, Latin name. But we’re friends, so we’re on a non-Latin name basis.

This exact sound lulled me to sleep every spring, summer, and autumn night of my life while I lived with Grandma, and the nights of my life before I lived with her, but would stay weekends.  The pond behind Grandma’s property provided (and still provides) the perfect home for them.  I actually missed them in the wintertime while they were frozen little frog-nuggets under the ice.

If the Exiles site had thrown in a whippoorwill call to boot, I’d probably be crying at my desk right now.  As it is, I keep hitting “refresh” to loop the wav file over again.  MAN, just gimme an evening in Grandma’s screen house, eating an Italian sandwich, watching the fireflies (or lightnin’ bugs, if you prefer), and listening to the peepers.

That’s as close to paradise as a girl can get, this side of heaven.

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    For me, one of the sounds of home I missed while I was away was trains. (However, I didn’t miss getting stopped by them ALL the time! 🙂 )

  2. Jean says:

    While I was living in SF, I desperately missed the locusts. Their voices would fill your ears, crescendo up and then stop on a dime. Magically, the stark silence that followed would seem just as loud. Sometimes in the city, I would hear a far off siren and imagine the sound waxing and waning like the call of a locust.

    Homesickness is such a shared human feeling, isn’t it? Anyone who has ever been really homesick knows exactly what you mean.

  3. Jeanette says:

    You make me want to go home to Maine and I never lived there! The only sounds I remember from my childhood are crickets. We lived in the city. And sirens. I remember sirens and watching the lights from the cars reflecting on my walls when they passed by on the street!

  4. Lana says:

    We have Peepers here too in Upper Peninsula of Michigan, what a peaceful sound… – you always know it’s spring when you hear the peepers in the evening.

  5. Dianne says:

    I miss the sound of the ocean, Italian sandwiches and the calm feeling I get whenever I go home to Portland.

  6. Jayne says:

    This may sound silly, living in such a tiny island, but I miss the sound of the sea! It lulled me to sleep every night as a child when we lived right at the edge of the water. Now the house I live in, although in a beautiful area, is 400ft up cliffs and it’s almost as though the sea isn’t there at all. I do know, however, that I am still very, very lucky to live where I was born and you *know* I empathise with your longing for beautiful Maine. It’s an incredible place. The soundtrack on that site is wonderful by the way!

  7. Kim says:

    I get the same way about upstate New York, especially this time of year. We moved away when I was six, but went back every summer and as an adult I usually make it up there once a year still. I’m ready to go. The sound of crickets, the smell of fresh hay, cut grass, wild strawberries and corn on the cob. Also, we went to Maine one summer and none of us wanted to leave. For my mom, I think it was all about the lobsters.

  8. Taoist Biker says:

    Cicadas, bobwhites, and snowbirds. And the smell of curing tobacco.

    Once when I was in graduate school in Richmond there was a windy day and I could smell the tobacco in the warehouses miles away, and I was astounded at how homesick it made me.

  9. Laura says:

    Heather – Trains could be heard from Grandma’s, too. Far enough away that they just added to the general night sounds instead of being disruptive.

    Jean – what a lovely description. Yes, homesickness is a feeling I never wanted to obtain and something I could really do without, thanks!

    Jeanette – It’s interesting what different sounds bring comfort to us!

    Lana – A welcome sound, isn’t it, when you know the snow isn’t going to come back for a while!

    Dianne – AMEN.

    Jayne – I’m still planning on moving in with you, you know that, right?

    Kim – OH, wild strawberries! Those teeny tiny little nuggets of sweetness, so much flavor for such bitty things! And go to mainelobsterdirect(dot)com for good deals on live lobster shipping, if your mum gets a hankering.

    TB – Oh, I love listening to bobwhites. It’s funny what’ll make you homesick, right out of the blue. Sometimes I even have to stop and think, “Now WHY did I just feel an overwhelming homesickness just now?”

Leave a Reply

