Our Story: Editorial Note

Posted: May 12, 2008 in blogkeeping, Calvin, Memory Lane

Upon reading the first installment of Our Story, Calvin pointed out that I wasn’t particularly clear about timelines and whatnot. The first time Calvin and I had ever met was several weeks before I was assigned to the MSB. We’d talked a few times, and he was in and out of the construction trailer for twice-weekly progress meetings. I described the first time we met in this entry, and how me and my ex and he and his ex actually socialized on one or two occasions.

And, we apparently spent more time on the project in the MSB than I had recalled. Hell, it HAS been thirteen years. So what I described, with our friendship growing, and the time spent in the MSB, was actually several months instead of weeks – I was there constantly for the first three weeks, then only there once or twice a week up until the building was signed-off. There was an actual final day out there, though, and that’s when the kiss happened – months after I was first assigned to the MSB.

I remember more clearly now, after talking to Calvin about the timing of everything.

I guess according to Calvin I made it seem like he pounced on me as soon as I walked into the MSB office on that first day, and I was sticking my tongue in his mouth a few weeks after meeting him. I made it seem slutty and cheap, when it really wasn’t.

As he commented, “After reading this entry it somehow makes it seem like watching your favorite movie in fast-forward. (TOOoo many details to cover here.) While I think we both knew right from the start that we liked each other neither one of us knew what the result could be when “doors are left open” in relationships. We were lucky! P.S. The timeline is a bit off – it was not that fast. I’m a PIG but not that bad.”

So! Clarity. I was doing it wrong.

Comments
  1. […] « Our Story: A Prologue Our Story: Editorial Note […]

  2. Heather says:

    It was way more interesting when it was slutty and cheap. Heehee 😉

  3. Megan says:

    He said. She said.
    Calvin needs a blog… NIVLAC speaks…
    Really, it’s cute seeing the way you guys negotiated the editing. It makes a great frame story for all these flashbacks, a reminder of how it all turned out in the end…er, well, how it turned out in the so far. The end being, you know, like sixty years from now.

  4. Taoist Biker says:

    My wife corrects me on that sort of thing all the time. And she’s usually right. And when she’s not, for the sake of peace, I tend to let her think she is. *evil grin*

  5. Heather says:

    I’m thinking Calvin wants to tell your story HIS way, he should do it. 😉

  6. Jen says:

    I was all YOU HOMEWRECKER!!!!
    :p

  7. Jean says:

    I have to say the “69…69…69” thing on the phone sounded creepy if it was as early in the relationship as it appeared…

  8. Laura says:

    Heather – ~grin~

    Megan – A blogging Calvin would be AWESOME. And I’m running all subsequent entries past him first to make sure I have the details right. It’s his story too, after all!

    TB – And SHE lets YOU think that you’re letting her think SHE’s right.

    Heather (again!) – Another vote for Calvin’s Own Blog!

    Jen – Honey, that home was wrecked LONG before I came on the scene. And 😛 back atcha!

    Jean – Another reason to make sure I have my facts straight!

  9. dyskinesia says:

    Damn skippy, Laura! 😉

Leave a Reply

