And now for something completely different.

Posted: April 23, 2008 in pets, photography

(Edited to add: the third installment of Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Laura’s Sordid Past is up just below this entry…)

I’m taking a pause today in the writing of my Epic Tale of Gloom. I go to a really bad place when I’m writing it, I’m finding, and it’s not healthy to stay there for long periods of time. Thus, a happy break. I don’t like to cast my mind back to that time, but I suppose it’s good for me. Call it an exorcism or something. Self-imposed therapy. It’s taking me a lot longer than I figured it would, though. Three parts already and probably another two to go before it’s all said and done. Calvin’s all, “Finish the story already! I want to know what happens!”

Um, Calvin? You ARE what happens.

Anyway. I’ve been playing around with the white balance settings on my camera (why it took me so long to pick up a copy of Scott Kelby’s book is beyond me). And I’ve been having GREAT fun with Photoshop CS3 and the actions provided (free!) by the generous and talented Miss Ree. Plus I’m doing some exploring and fiddling around with the new enhanced features that CS3 has over my old 5.5 version.

My only problem is that there’s not a whole heck of a lot of interesting subjects in and around the place that I live. Just plain ol’ boring Suburbia, until Calvin and I can get out of town this weekend and take a drive up north or something. I was just going back through my Flickr photos and using them to play with in Photoshop, but I REALLY wanted to take some new photos with some of the new camera techniques I’m learning. So I cast my eyes around for something vaguely interesting to take pictures of.

Lo, the subject of my happy break:

ozzyinabasket8
“Hellew. I have ze sexy eyes, no?”

ozzyinabasket5
“I claim zis basket in ze name of Spain.”

ozzyinabasket7
“Do you see how changing the white balance on the camera brings out my natural highlights? I. Am. Gorgeous.”

ozzytoes
“My toes, zey are precious.”

Quoth Calvin, “How many pictures of Oz do you NEED, anyway?” I don’t know, readers! How many pictures of Ozzy do we need? A hundred? A thousand? A million?

How about just one more.

ozzyinabasket3
“My eyes, zey look blue in zis light. I am stunning regardless of camera setting or photo enhancement!”

Comments
  1. rai says:

    You can never have enough cat pictures.

    At least I’m going to keep telling myself that to justify the number that I have…

  2. Jayne says:

    Great photos of Oz! You’ll have noticed from my Flickr pages that it’s ‘Flower pic’, ‘Flower pic’, ‘CAT’, ‘Flower pic’, ‘Flower pic’, ‘CAT’, … and so it goes on! I do understand the subject matter dilemma. 🙂 If it helps inspire you, I’d love to see photos of the city / town / the burbs where you live. You see it every day, to me it’s new and interesting and very different to what we have here. I’ve seen Scott Kelby’s book mentioned a couple of times now – I’ll have to see if I can get it over here because try as I might, f/stops, ISOs etc. are all swirling around my brain like alphabetti soup, making little sense!

  3. Jeanette says:

    What a pretty boy! I can’t wait to try this myself.

  4. Laura says:

    Rai – If there were a legal limit I’d be posting from jail even as we speak.

    Jayne – I’m going to start buying some flowers and see if I can re-create some of the wonderful shots you’re always sharing. And hmm… you’ve given me the idea to do a “This is my Neighborhood” pictoral entry. Some day… soon! Before it gets too hot.

    Jeanette – He’s my snoofie wuzzy fuzzy wuv bubby! 😀

Leave a Reply

