As requested: “Laura’s Life and Times, the Early(er) Years”

Posted: April 16, 2008 in Journal, Memory Lane

Yes, I know that’s not how you spell “earlier”. Parenthetical suffixes allow for overall word misspellings.

So, a reader requested that I post a bit more about my pre-Calvin, pre-online journal years. Specifically, the request was, “What’s up with your ex, and why did you have to run out of the house in the middle of the night in nothing but a T-shirt and panties?”

That, my friends, is a loooooooooong, drama-filled story. Which will probably take more than one entry to write. But I shall persevere, because I am filled with the love for all my readers, great and small.

So this is a head’s up that the entries are forthcoming. It’s been a couple of days since I posted so I thought you’d all appreciate the knowledge that I haven’t forgotten you. No, indeedy. I am, in fact, gearing up to pour my guts out in an epic tale of lost innocence, betrayed dreams, and fantastic stupidity.

BUT! It has a happy ending (as you already know). So, stay tuned!

Comments
  1. cariskicker says:

    Yay! I love reading about a good trainwreck relationship! The nice thing about writing about it after so many years is that the you can truly see it for the dysfunction it was.

    I cringe just thinking about some of mine and how utterly naive and gullible I was. My rose-tinted glasses are definitely a thing of the past.

    What is it about young girls that makes us stupid enough to think that we can heal everything with our love? My eyes roll just thinking about it.

    I can’t wait for the forthcoming entries to hear about your experiences. ­čÖé

    Also, I’ll post that au gratin recipe as soon as I stop procrastinating. ­čÖé

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    Wow. It takes a lot of guts to write in detail about things we’d rather forget…but for me in the past the feeling of just getting it out there instead of holding it as some dirty little secret has been worth it. I guess that’s part of why PostSecret is so well-loved.

  3. Laura says:

    Cariskicker – NO KIDDING! I can’t even begin to wonder what I was thinking back then.

    TB – That’s one of the reasons why I’m okay with writing about it, because I always feel better afterwards. Not that I’m still traumatized or anything. I mean, I’ve posted some details here and there throughout the journal over the years, but I can’t think of a time that I actually spilled the whole story.

Leave a Reply

