Guilt. It has its uses.

Posted: April 10, 2008 in Halp, Headspace, Listy goodness, meme
Tags: , , ,

Without my healthy sense of guilt (“Are you my conscience?”) I would probably do the following:

  • Eat an entire box of Thin Mints in one sitting.
  • Re-rack up the credit cards with vacationy goodness.
  • Call off work for a “mental health day”, even though I was on vacation for the latter half of last week.
  • Make the family fend for themselves for dinner seven nights a week.
  • Ignore all housework.
  • Read at my desk.
  • Ignore the bills in favor of purchasing lots and lots of useless crap.
  • Ignore three quarters of the e-mails in my (work) in-box.
  • Tell people, “I’m working on it!” When I am, in fact, not.
  • Skip every last workout I ever contemplated.

What would YOU do?

Comments
  1. awalkabout says:

    Heck, I’d vote for most of those. I think maybe you’re my lost lost twin! ­čÖé

  2. maryanne says:

    I’d definetely eat the cookies and take that mental health day =)

  3. Heather says:

    I guess I reserve guilt for the really big stuff because I wouldn’t feel guilty about any of those things! ­čÖé

  4. Taoist Biker says:

    Buy a Ducati on a credit card and leave for a monthlong cross-country ride.

  5. Laura says:

    Awalkabout – Hurray! Calvin always wanted me to have a twin. ­čśë

    Maryanne – I can’t believe how long the GS cookies have lasted in THIS household.

    Heather – You want my cookies?

    TB – Now THAT is the kind of thing Calvin would say. He’s been pestering me for a sport bike for months. And I feel a little bit bad every time I say “no”. I understand the need, really I do.

  6. Heather says:

    Nah, cookies are not my indulgence of choice. ­čÖé

  7. Taoist Biker says:

    You can go halfway on the sport bike – the Ducati Monster, Yamaha FZ1, Suzuki SV650 sort of blur the line between sportbike and standard, upright bike. The foot position is more beneath you than out in front like a cruiser or slightly behind like a sportbike.

    Ducatis do require a little more maintenance than the Japanese bikes, and it’s a bit harder to find mechanics and parts if you don’t live in a big city (you should be OK – hell, you’ve got MMI there), but GAWD they’re dead sexy.

Leave a Reply

