Ded Blog Sho

Posted: April 8, 2008 in blogs
Tags: ,

WordPress spellcheck is still missing.  Grrrr.  Why it went away with the new user interface is beyond me.

I have several blogs on my blogroll that seem to be doing nuthin’ much of nuthin’. I try hard not to give up hope, since if they’ve made it to my blogroll, they’re “keepers” that I’ve invested time and emotion in following. However, if they’ve been silent for too long (and that “too long” estimation is an emotional one, rather than a deliberated one), I get the notion to do some housekeeping. Especially if that silence was NOT preceded by some sort of a “The End” or Hiatus notification.

200 Dates. Last post was January 24th, ’08. Not a long “silence” in most blog terms, but since this girl was supposed to be going on 200 dates in 200 days and updating daily, her abrupt silence either indicates that her experiment is at an end and she found “twue wuv”, or she met with foul play during one of her dates. Oh dear.

Cutting Through Fluff. Last post was August 6th, ’07. This one would be a hard one for me to give up, since Terri and I used to correspond somewhat regularly. Plus she’s the former mistress of “The If Project”, a collab that used to run in these here parts several years ago. Miss that collab. Miss Terri. My assumption is that she found bliss with her hubby and is currently too angst-free to post. Because what’s a blog without a little angst, right?

Running With Scissors. AYHEM, Dawn. Last post was May 24th, ’07. Now, Dawn and I e-mail regularly, so I know that she’s busy with work and baby, which leaves little time to post. This is just a gently, friendly, PERSISTANT reminder.

Footnotes. Last post that wasn’t a “birthday greeting” to a relative was September 18th, ’06. And the birthday greetings make up seven posts since then. I followed Secra (or Terri) for years and read through all her archives. Loved her writing, she was one of the first bloggers that I followed. I guess, like many bloggers, she found she had little left to write about. Still, an official “goodbye” would be kindly met.  She has gone the way of Shelleyness.  Not even a, “So long, and thanks for all the fish.”

I would hate to remove these folks from my blogroll, but perhaps it’s time for me to move on, as it seems that they have. If anybody has updates on these folks, either in “real life” or if you know that they’ve moved elsewhere, leave a comment or drop me a line!.

Comments
  1. Jeanette says:

    Hey you can visit me once in a while. I try to post at least twice a week!

  2. maryanne says:

    I miss Dawn and Terri too. I used to love reading Dawn’s entries, I always sat here and laughed my ass off.
    I also miss reading Elizabeth (www.abeyance.net)

  3. Jayne says:

    Yes I miss Terri. I also miss Jill in LA. Do you ever hear from her? I wonder how she’s doing nowadays.

  4. LauraH says:

    There is nothing sadder than when a beloved blogger stops with the daily updates. I get so used to reading what they have to say and then…boom…nothing. I hope one, or all of them, updates soon. Maybe 200 dates will become 365 Days of Marriage…or something.

  5. Laura says:

    Jeanette – I DO! I’m just a lazy blogger who doesn’t update her blogroll.

    Maryanne – Dawn is still alive, she’s just LAAAAZYYYY. (Hint, Dawnie.) I used to read Elizabeth as well! I think she changed URL’s or something, I never got updated on her new location.

    Jayne – I think of Jill a lot, because we were “real life” friends. I haven’t heard from her in ages. I’ve sent a couple of e-mails to the address I have for her, but never get a response. I miss First Person Particular!

    LauraH – I always hope for the best but think the worst has happened to bloggers who have just “disappeared”. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

