Wuh le fuh?

Posted: March 25, 2008 in insomnia, Music, Video, WTF
Tags: , ,

I posted the UK video of The Killers’ “All These Things That I’ve Done” in yesterday’s entry. This is the US version of the video. First, anybody know why there would be two different videos for the two countries? Second, what the HELL is up with the US version? I found the UK version to be kind of uplifting and hopeful. I found the US version to be a (bad) Dali painting come to life.

There had to be some marketing genius out there who convinced The Powers That Be that the song wouldn’t be popular in America unless its video was shot in a trailer park and used cowboys, sluttishly clad women, a midget, and a donkey. And if that be the case, what that says for the American culture just makes me sad.

Oh, the things that get me going when I have insomnia.

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    Uh, yeah. That version sucks. Looks like somebody trying way too hard, and still failing miserably, to say “Look, I’m a filmmaker!!”

  2. Ryan says:

    I agree. I love The Killers and I thought their videos for “Mr. Brightside” and “When you were young” were amazing but this one is definately puzzeling.

  3. Jayne says:

    Hehehe … the midget, the donkey, the boomerangs ….v. weird. I’m afraid it’s right over the top of my head, don’t get it at all.
    Maybe a different video was needed due to legalities like ‘artists rights’??? Still doesn’t explain the weirdness mind.

  4. Laura says:

    TB – I know it. I can’t believe they every gave the okay on these videos. I bet they’re totally embarrassed about them now.

    Ryan – I haven’t seen “Mr. Brightside” yet. I’ll have to look that one up! Yeah, though, I love The Killers.

    Jayne – Maybe the “over the top” status would have been prevented without the boomerang? Nah, it needed a complete overhaul. ~grin~

Leave a Reply

