Tagged, like, a long time ago.

Posted: March 25, 2008 in Journal, Listy goodness, meme
Tags: , , , ,

A while back, LauraH tagged me for a simple little meme.

Seven Random Things About Myself

1. Sometimes, in order to get the mood going in the right direction before work the next morning, I will leave the CD player set to a good song in the truck the evening before, when I pull in the driveway after work. That way when I get in the truck in the morning the first thing I hear is a favorite song. I did this a few days ago. I do believe I said out loud to no one in particular, “I’m so smart!”

2. It takes an act of God to get me to fold laundry and put it away in the same week in which it was washed. I actually sometimes get ANGRY, like, throw-shit-around angry as I’m folding the laundry because I totally hate it that much. There is no childhood trauma that I can point to and say, “That’s what fucked laundry for me for the rest of my life.”

3. When I was little (around five to around twelve or thirteen) I was enrolled in tap, jazz and ballet lessons, with a smattering of breakdancing thrown in there (it was the 80’s, hush you). I could do the backspin and the worm. I really doubt I could do them now. I still remember smatterings of recitals that I performed in. And one of the final jazz recitals I performed in was to Sheena Easton’s “Strut”. I don’t think the teacher listened to the words too terribly closely, otherwise she wouldn’t have had a bunch of pre-adolescents dancing around to, “Come on over here, lay your clothes on the chair. Now let the lace fall across your shoulder. (Oh no oh no.) Standin’ in the half light, you’re almost like her. Take it slow like your daddy told ya.”

4. Remember the truck that Marty lusted over in “Back to the Future”, and eventually got in the end? I TOTALLY wanted one of those, when I was slavering to get my license and a vehicle. I’ve always been a truck girl at heart. Though I wouldn’t say no to a Corvette. My sister got a Vette for her sixteenth birthday, and ten years later when I turned sixteen I got a computer. How’s that for being born under a bad sign?

5. When I turned thirteen years old my sister held a slumber party for me at her house for my birthday. We (the partiers, not my sister) watched Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. I was quoting the part at the dinner table, where Charlie Sheen’s character is explaining to Jeanie, “You wear too much eye makeup. My sister wears too much. People think she’s a whore.” My sister overheard me and thought I was actually talking about her. She was really, really pissed. Also, one of the girls at the slumber party hid tater tots in the potted plant next to the table and I didn’t say anything to my sister and I didn’t take them out and the plant was dead three weeks later and my sister was really, really pissed.

6. I alternate between having a craving for a Dairy Queen strawberry sundae, and having a craving for McDonald’s french fries. It’s always one or the other, never at the same time, and the craving sticks until I’ve satisfied it. I’m currently working on a DQ craving that has lasted for the past six weeks. And counting. I am woman.

7. If I haven’t seen the ocean for a while I start to long for it. It doesn’t matter which coast, it doesn’t matter if it’s a bay or a long uninterrupted stretch to the horizon. I think it’s something about the smell of the salt water and sand, and the sound of the shoosh of the waves. The sound of a flock of geese flying overhead makes me homesick, too. Whenever I hear geese in the sky I go outside (if I wasn’t already), spot them, and watch them fly by until they’re barely discernible specs. Also, I miss chickadees.

Comments
  1. Jayne says:

    Point 7? Imagine how much worse this tie to the sea becomes if you’re an islander! I can’t get more than 2.5 miles from the water here and the smell of the sea is permanently in the air. Being close to it is what makes me happiest and if we ever moved away I just couldn’t live anywhere landlocked. (Lakes and rivers are a poor substitute for me). I guess the sea is now just part of who I am.

  2. Heather says:

    I don’t like ironing. So I refuse to do it. That means I don’t fold any of my laundry (with the exception of towels and pj’s since wrinkles don’t matter so much on those articles). I hang everything that might get wrinkled up right out of the dryer. Hahaha! You know, I STILL don’t have any dressers or anything like that. However, every single closet in my house is full because of my aversion to the iron.

  3. Laura says:

    Jayne – I’m still planning on moving in with you, just so you know…

    Heather – If we had the room, I’d hang every loving thing up. I can’t even remember the last time I used the iron. LUBS YOU.

Leave a Reply

