Here we go a’ webcrawling…

Posted: March 13, 2008 in blogs, boredom
Tags:

Kids, try this at home. Go to a website. Any website. Perhaps this website. Click on an outgoing link. From that website, click on another outgoing link. From that website, click on another outgoing link. And on. And see where it gets ya.

From here, I clicked on John Scalzi’s Whatever and read about bacon lollipops.

From there, I clicked on Robin Hobb’s rant about blogging, in one of John’s posts. I chortled. I then went to Robin Hobb’s main page to look for links.

From there, I clicked on his “cellar” link, then “artists”, then found myself at Jackie Morris’ site. I looked at some fascinating pictures of Avebury, and all the rest of the pics in her March 3rd entry. I clicked on her “links” page.

From there I clicked on ramblings of some walking cats, or We Three Cats. I ADORE ORANGE MARMALADE CATS.

From there I clicked on her link to Sally Gardens. I want to live in Ireland. Seriously.

From there I clicked on Not a Proper Farmer. Laws, I love how the British speak! Erm, write. Express themselves.

From there I clicked on River Cottage and learned a bit about co-op farming in the UK.

From their bookmarks/other links page, I clicked on Jake Eastham Images. I spent a happy time looking through the lovely pictures.

From his links page, I clicked on Five Rivers and learned a bit about wildlife habitat protection and restoration…

…and from there I was stymied, because that site had no outgoing links. So! It’s kind of like a game… how far can you go before you have to stop?

Comments
  1. LauraH says:

    I have met some of my very favorite bloggers that way. It is amazing where you can end up, and what you can learn.

  2. Laura says:

    LauraH – Indeed! That’s how I found you! 😀

Leave a Reply

