I’m dressed in white noise

Posted: March 5, 2008 in best things, Music, Video

I LOVE songs that give me goosebumps.  I’m listening to “Let It Be” from the “Across the Universe” soundtrack, and when the gospel choir kicked in, I felt a SHEET of goosebumps travel from my scalp down to my toes.  LOVE that.  Transcendent songs just get to me.

Some others that make me shiver:

– “Once” by Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova (“Hear the sirens call me home…”). “Falling Slowly” is also really really good.

– “Radio Ga-Ga” by Queen (really the goosebumps come from watching the concert DVD “Live at Wembly Stadium” when the crowd is doing that clap at “All we hear is (clap clap – UP!) radio ga-ga (clap clap – UP!) radio goo-goo (clap clap – UP!) radio ga-ga (clap clap – UP!)… oh, well, here it is, watch the crowd during the chorus, especially the second go-around:)

– “Born to Run” by Bruce Springsteen (“…one two three four! The highways jammed with broken heroes on a last chance power drive…”)

– “Hallelujah”, most all versions but the Jeff Buckley version especially. Can’t seem to embed it, so go here.

– “Who Loves You”, the Jersey Boys version of the Frankie Valli song. I LOVE the way it ends. I always holler, “YEAH!” Seriously. (Ignore the Sopranos stuff in the video, just wait for the final transcendent note at the end. DAY-AMN.)

“The Story” by Brandi Carlile, especially when it kicks in the second verse. Goose. Bumps. (Go here.)

“A Bitter Song” by Butterfly Boucher.

Man, there’s a ton more but I probably ought to wrap this up before it becomes impossible to load.

(Title is a lyric from Goldfrapp’s “Strict Machine”.)

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    The song by Queen that has always gotten to me live was ‘Love of My Life’. *sigh*

  2. LauraH says:

    “How to Save a Life” used to do it for me even before…Now it is too painful to listen to. I hope you are well.

  3. Jayne says:

    Freddie Mercury was a very special talent with a damned fine voice. I love Radio Ga-Ga – great song and there’s something very moving and special when a crowd react as one. I absolutely adore Freddie and Montserrat Caballe singing ‘Barcelona’ – I’m getting shivers just hearing that lady’s voice in my head. I’m off to find it now ….

  4. Jayne says:

    Yep, just had my fix of Montserrat … those great crescendos … what a way to start the day. 🙂

  5. Kim says:

    I was so nervous to recommend Across the Universe to you.
    I’m so glad you get chills to the same song I did (and still do!)
    Is it wrong to love other people singing Beatles songs better than some of the originals? Because I do!

  6. Brenda says:

    Laura, thanks for the “Radio Ga Ga” clip. Have been a Queen fan since I was 13 years old. Roger Taylor was always “my man” and I even named my daughter after him 19 years ago.

    How I miss Freddie Mercury, may he rest in blissful peace.

  7. Laura says:

    Heather – Love that one too!

    LauraH – That is a good song. I didn’t think I’d like the rest of the songs by that group but they have several decent ones.

    Jayne – We’re repeatedly astounded every time we watch “Live at Wembley Stadium” (which is worn out now) how AWESOME his voice is. Many singers aren’t, when live. But I think he’s even better live than recorded. Also, never heard of that song, I shall have to look for it.

    Kim – ~grin~ I feel the same way. The Beatles aren’t very, well, “polished”, which is part of their draw, for certain. However, when a “polished” version of their song is performed, I generally like it better than the original. So don’t feel bad, you’re not alone!

    Brenda – I mourn the fact that I never got to see him live in concert before he died. Calvin did, and said he was incredible.

Leave a Reply

