What we’re doing

Posted: February 28, 2008 in boredom, Family, goals, Home, Journal, Listy goodness, misc

Okay, I’ve protested it long and hard, but maybe I am the entertainment committee. Dammit. Calvin and I have been discussing our desire to get up and out on the weekends, without spending a lot of money. So it’s up to me to figure out what that’s going to be.

I’m going to attempt (key word, my gentle snowflakes) to post a month’s worth of weekend activities – a schedule, if you will – just prior to the first weekend of a new month. Which we are going to attempt (gentle snowflakes) to follow, take pictures of, bask in the glory of, write riveting entries about, etc. Bottom line, it might not be highly exciting, but it’s something to do.

Our imaginations aren’t that great, though, so if any of you guys have suggestions for (cheap) stuff to keep our asses entertained, please leave it in the comments! I will love you forever.

March 1 (Saturday): Hiking in Sedona (poor Calvin)
March 2 (Sunday): Historic District and Downtown Gilbert motorcycle ride

March 8 (Saturday): Arizona Beer Festival (it’s not cheap, but it only comes once a year and it’s beer)
March 9 (Sunday): Ostrich Festival

March 15 (Saturday): Sabino Canyon in Tucson
March 16 (Sunday):  Desert Botanical Garden (butterfly exhibit)

March 22 (Saturday): Baseball spring training game
March 23 (Sunday): Apache Trail/Canyon Lake motor ride

March 29 (Saturday): Tempe Art Festival
March 30 (Sunday): Canoeing in Prescott

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    Wow…you spontaneous kids.

  2. Jean says:

    …might I make an unsolicited comment….that will probably piss you off and I’ll be forced to stop reading because I won’t be able to stand the thought that you’re mad at me….?

  3. Laura says:

    Heather – 😛 Well, you used to live here, so what would YOU do?

    Jean – Well now, gee! You’ve got me curious. I’m sure you won’t piss me off… so ask away!

  4. Heather says:

    For starters, I wouldn’t marry a guy I had to entertain 24/7. Because you know you’re going to get him home after each of these excursions and he’s going to tell you that he’s bored! Heehee…

    (Love you dearly, Calvin, but you already know that we would NOT get along if we had to live together for more than a day or two.)

    This is just me, but a month long schedule for free time just, I don’t know, seems too regimented…like work. Busywork even! I never could plan out my meals on a wipe-erase board for a month or even a week like you do either. This kind of stuff works for you guys and that’s great but I’m still gonna poke fun at it because it’s what we do.

  5. Laura says:

    Hey, I need to be entertained too! This isn’t just to keep Calvin from complaining. I’m tired of getting to Sunday night every week and thinking, “Gee, we didn’t do anything but sit around!” And I figure if I come up with enough stuff up front I won’t have to put as much thought into it every weekend. Same with the menu planning… you just like chaos. 😀

  6. Calvin says:

    But what a fun day or two it might be?
    I guess I never thought about it but when I was with the ex my life was full of some issue… so I never had time to be bored.
    I was always worried about how to fix it or fighting about why it happened in the first place.
    Now I seem to have it so good I have time to worry about what I could be doing!
    Cool! It’s still all her fault.

  7. Heather says:

    You call it chaos, I call it leaving my options open. I don’t like being tied down to plans too far in advance. Something more fun could come up! Either way, we all have lots of fun. More fun than old folks are supposed to I always say. 🙂

    “I’m a fly by the seat of my pants kind of girl. Moment to moment…”

  8. Calvin says:

    I agree sometimes you set plans and then Something more fun does come up, and then aw crap.
    I have always said options are a good thing.

  9. LauraH says:

    I am one half of the original Mr. and Mrs. Boring so I don’t know how much of my advice you would want to take. 🙂 We always meant to join a bowling league but didn’t want to bowl every single Sunday-because neither one of us were necessarily good at it. I see now they have every other Sunday couples leagues. We weren’t totally into bowling but there is nothing more fun than laughing together over a poorly thrown gutter ball. To comment on scheduling v. not scheduling: I think, anytime one starts off on a new idea (in this case, weekend things to do) it is helpful to schedule. When one is new at something it is hard to come up with ideas all badda bing. As a person spends more time doing things, the ideas might come naturally on a Saturday morning. Say, you might be scheduled to go to the spring training game, but you wake up with “hey! let’s go horsebacking riding!” on your mind. Just my 82 cents. Whatever you all do, have fun!

  10. Jean says:

    ….(deep breath)….When I first read this entry, I was struck at the way you were trying to fill time, planned, in advance, to make you feel…..I dont’ know – better? happier? more at peace? fulfilled?

    Then I read the Feb 26 entry again and thought ‘well, she’s going to do the same things she’s always done (AND DONE EXCEPTIONALLY WELL!!! I really internet like you and respect you!), get the same results she always gets, and then write another entry like this one someday and wonder why it still feels like something is missing, or at the least, unexplained.’

    There. I’ve said it.

  11. Heather says:

    Does Jean have a blog? 🙂

  12. Laura says:

    Heather – It’s not being “tied down” to any set plans. If there’s something else we’d rather do (even just sitting around) we’ll do that instead. I’m just coming up with ideas so we don’t have to expend too much brain power on “What do you want to do?” “I dunno, what do you want to do?” “Now don’t start THAT again!”

    Calvin – Aww! Snoofie snoofie! You get to be bored with me because life with me is SO DAMN GOOD! 😀

    LauraH – You hit it exactly. And… bowling! Good idea. I like bowling.

    Jean – I internet like you too! 😀 You silly thing, you didn’t say one thing insulting. And I was looking forward to it, too. Heh. The whole weekend activity thing isn’t part of the whole, “What do I want to do with my life” thing – we’re just trying to find cheap things to entertain ourselves with. I guess written on the heels of the other entry established a correlation, but really there isn’t one.

    Heather (again) – I’m trying to convince her! 😀

  13. Laura says:

    I’m annoyed at myself for how many smileys I used just now.

  14. Jen says:

    I prefer the 😀 over the 😛

  15. Heather says:

    See, I make plans with other people so I AM tied down when I say I’m doing something.

  16. […] by Laura on March 3, 2008 Well. We didn’t end up hiking in Sedona as scheduled this weekend (see Heather? we can be flexible). Calvin, being on-call, needs to stick close to the […]

Leave a Reply

