I’m only happy when it rains.

Posted: February 15, 2008 in Journal

Well, no, that’s not true.  I’m not ONLY happy when it rains, but rainy days sure do make me happy.  I woke up this morning to a dim outdoors and pattering on the roof and WANTED to get up.  Which is rare, for me.

So now I’ve got, “I Love a Rainy Night” stuck in my head. 

Calvin and I are meeting up with his sister and her husband at Fogo e Brasa for dinner tonight for a belated Valentines dinner. I’ve heard a lot of good things about it and have been dying to go. I mean, look at the pictures on this page and tell me who would NOT want to eat there? I’ve been looking forward to this so much that I’ve been saying idiotic things like, “Tomorrow I get to have dessert!” Or, “I’m not eating lunch today so that I’m extra hungry tonight!” There is a REASON, people, why I’m a chubby (yet hot!) chick. I love me some eatin’. And if it’s eatin’ that I don’t have to cook, even better. And if it’s eatin’ that’s in the form of meat that is delivered to my table in SLABS on SWORDS (well, really big skewers), even better.

It’s my early Friday today so I’m going to get on the housework when I get home in case my sister-and-brother-in-law want to hang out after dinner. It’s also nice to start off a long weekend (well, I have Monday off but Calvin doesn’t) with the housework done so that I don’t have to interrupt or postpone anything fun we might want to do, in order to get the mundane out of the way.

“Anything fun” currently has several possibilities in the running. There’s a beer festival going on over in Mesa, the Renaissance Festival is in town, or we might take a drive up to Sedona to do some hiking (quoth Calvin, “So, is there a lot of walking involved in hiking?”). Any direction we choose to take will involve a picture taking extravaganza, so you all have that to look forward to. Because my life is fascinating, and you? You’re fascinated.

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    I’m sorry I’m a few days late in asking this, but with that new Photoshop tool you talked about the other day? Is it fairly user-friendly for a VERY amateur photographer such as myself? The picture of you and your husband came out amazing and I’d love to buy it, but don’t want to spend the cash if I’m not going to get everything out of it that I can.
    Thanks!!!
    Kim

  2. Laura says:

    Kim – Photoshop is really not user friendly in that it isn’t intuitive, you really need to take tutorials (of which there are mill-ee-yons) to learn the ins and outs of it. BUT the tutorials are very step-by-step in nature so they can be followed fairly easily. Case in point – I’m a complete and total idiot with it but even I can figure out how to diffuse and bloom our pic! I would recommend it because it’s pretty much the industry standard, and I’d be happy to help you get going on it if you’d like. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

