Pondering.

Posted: February 13, 2008 in goals, Headspace, Maine

I got to thinking this morning about my need (wish, desire) to move back to Maine.  In talking with a friend of ours last night, she mentioned that it would make more sense to move to New Hampshire.  I balked at the idea then – New Hampshire is not Maine, after all. But it kind of stuck in the back of my mind, and this morning I am pondering.

There is not a whole heck of a lot of difference between the two states. Not enough to cause issue with me, really. It’s the proximity to the things that I love – the places, the food, the ocean – that’s important to me. New Hampshire is actually more centrally located for the purpose of our True Love – day trips. A couple of hours north and we’d be in my old stomping grounds. A couple of hours south and we can explore Cape Cod and Martha’s Vineyard. The Cat Ferry makes the trip from Portland to Nova Scotia in six hours (hi, Amanda! mind if we visit?). An hour or two West is skiing in Vermont. A four-hour drive north is Quebec, a three hour drive north-west is Montreal.

Taxes – both property and sales (no sales tax!) are better than Maine. The economy and opportunities for employment are better than Maine. I don’t know why they are, since they’re practically the same state. But they are.

So now I’m looking a bit more closely at NH. Portsmouth is right on the ocean. Maybe the idea that we had of a loft in downtown Portland would extend to Portsmouth.

Who knows? It’s another option. I just want to go hooooooome.

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    Well…that might be a good idea since it is not YOUR home and it isn’t Calvin’s home either. It would be new for BOTH of you. A compromise of sorts, you know?

  2. I DEFINITELY don’t mind if you guys visit! We have a guest room – just let me know when! 🙂

  3. Miss Britt says:

    Portland… Porstmouth…. isn’t that practically the same thing? 😉

  4. sherry says:

    If you make that three hour drive to Montreal, you’d better be letting me know so we can get together!

  5. Laura says:

    Absolutely, Sherry!!!

  6. Jayne says:

    Brilliant lateral thinking I’d say.

  7. ellessu says:

    I loooove Portsmouth! When I lived in Massachusetts, I loved going up there for a quick weekend. Such a cute, cute town.

  8. Kim says:

    Would you be willing to build on a 2.2 – 2.5 acre lot? I know just the person in Maine who just might sell you some. Close to I-295. Next time you are in Maine, please come see us. For those of you who don’t know, “Laura” and I used to spend many Sundays together when her grandmother would visit her relatives that lived right next door to my parents. Often times she would sleep over my house, or I hers. She and I loved horses, I envied her for having a horse, and appreciated it when she would bring me to the stables with her – we would play in the neighbor’s hay loft, walk in the fields, walk to the Penny store – Laura was and will always be my best friend since early childhood years. I would love having you close again. It would be great to get together. I know, some of you might think this is selfish of me, but I really miss her, and I’m glad to see she still wants to “come hoooome.”

Leave a Reply

