HALP.

Posted: February 10, 2008 in Halp, Music

Hi friends.  I was wondering if you could help me out?  I am completely, totally, unendingly BORED with my current iPod playlist.  I need some new music!  Music to work to, music to work out to, music to chill to.

Here’s where you guys come in.  I need some recommendations, in a bad way. What are you guys listening to right now? What moves you – physically, menally, emotionally? What’s new out there that you love? What’s old school that you’ve recently resurrected?

SAVE ME from my music boredom. Leave a comment (preferred, so we can share your genius with the world), or shoot me an e-mail.

Once I have a new playlist I’ll post it here to inspire you all. 

THANKS!

Comments
  1. Amanda says:

    Buckcherry! I really love “Crazy Bitch” (good dancing and gym music) and “Sorry” (slower song).

  2. Laura says:

    HOW is it I have never heard of these guys before? GREAT songs, Amanda! Thanks!

  3. Heather says:

    Their first album is even better than the newer one…but that’s just my opinion. 😉

  4. Jayne says:

    It’s hard to know who you have access to over there, just as ‘Buckcherry’ I don’t think features in our UK Itunes but I’m going to check that out. It’s probably 2 years old by now but have you heard any Snow Patrol (album ‘Eyes Open’)? I have a thing for their track ‘Chocolate’ but ‘Chasing Cars’ is probably the best known. Then there’s Keane. More recent favourites would be tracks by Lily Allen, Amy Winehouse, Kate Nash, Laura Marling (love the track ‘Ghosts’, which is a pretty recent release) and Adele (‘Chasing Pavements’, again, a new release).
    Erm … you did ask!

  5. Jayne says:

    Ooh … and then in old stuff there’s Donovan (who I was reminded of from watching ‘Zodiac Man’). He did some iconic songs did old Donovan….
    Then don’t forget The Who – I was reminded of them by the CSI theme tunes : Baba O’Reilly (CSI New York), Won’t get fooled again (CSI Las Vegas). Both of those are on their great album ‘Who’s Next’. (Am I giving away my age here?)

  6. Taoist Biker says:

    Well, I confess that I don’t know all that much about your tastes, but what the hell, I’ll give it a shot. I can never resist a “Hey, what’s some cool music I haven’t heard?” query. 😀

    Albums that should be in everyone’s collection (but aren’t in most people’s):

    Jonny Lang, “Long Time Coming”
    The kid is AMAZING, and this is the first album of his switchover from a more pure-blues artist to someone who does more old-style R&B.

    Alison Krauss & Union Station, “Lonely Runs Both Ways”
    Always fantastic musicianship.

    Opeth, “Damnation”
    A beautiful statement of 70’s-esque melancholy prog-rock, from a 2000’s Swedish metal band. Go to Amazon or somewhere and listen to a sample of “Windowpane” and “Closure.”

    Devin Townsend, “Ocean Machine/Biomech”
    Some experimental stuff from a mercurial genius. It’s very deeply layered, which I love but drives my wife nuts, so be warned.

    Thrice, “The Artist in the Ambulance”
    Heavy music, life-affirming lyrics. “Stare at the Sun,” “The Melting Point of Wax,” and the title track are all fantastic.

    And the old-school that I’ve been randomly into lately,
    Stevie Wonder, “Talking Book”
    The classic funk tune “Superstition,” the song from the end of “High Fidelity,” “I Believe When I Fall In Love…”, what more could you ask for?

  7. Laura says:

    you guys = awesome

  8. Heather says:

    Oooh I love Johnny Lang! If you like him, give Kenny Wayne Shepherd a try too. Great, great guitar stuff.

  9. Laura: I only recently heard of Buckcherry myself, back when Neal had Sirius satellite in the car, and “Crazy Bitch” came on. I’ll have to look up some of their older stuff

  10. K says:

    Look at my playlist on MS…tons of interesting stuff!!!

  11. Kim says:

    Delurking to share with you this:
    If you are any kind of a Beatles fan at all, you must get the soundtrack to Across the Universe! The movie was trippy and sappy and great and the soundtrack is amazing.
    I’m also a big fan of Kid Rock – going to see him for the 6th time in a few weeks! I’m in my late 30’s but you’re never too old to be a groupie! Or at least I’m not.

    I’m catching up on all your archives and enjoying your blog very much – thanks!

  12. Ryan says:

    You should check out “The Hold Steady”. They are my new favorite band. Just my opinion.

  13. […] by Laura on February 15, 2008 New playlist based on reader comments and recommendations (so far).  I love my readers!  What an eclectic […]

Leave a Reply

