The flu can BITE ME.

Posted: February 8, 2008 in Family, Health/Fitness, Journal

Stiiiiillll sick.  I went to work yesterday, but this morning woke up with a glorious case of nausea, so I’ve been praying to the porcelain gods all morning. I just had some dry toast, we’ll see what that does for the situation.

Poor Calvin was running a temperature this morning, sounds and looks awful, and yet still went to work. I’m really worried about him. I wanted him to stay home, but he had “commitments”. All of whom will now catch the flu, I’m sure. If you guys read in the news that the entire city of Phoenix has come down with the flu all at once, it’s his fault.

Marie’s home from work again today too, and has been since Wednesday. We are a fabulous family to behold right now, let me tell you. This entire house will need to be dipped in disinfectant when we’re all over this. I think perhaps I shall have to burn my bed, too.

In other news, I just finished reading “Can You Keep a Secret?” by Sophie Kinsella. It’s been in my stack of books to read on my dresser for ages, now. It’s a gift from Jen. As such, Jen is completely and entirely responsible for my discovery of yet another asinine condition of mine. Long time readers will remember how I have described that it is physically painful for me to observe anyone in an embarrassing situation (watching the auditions for American Idol, for instance, is an exercise in willpower for me). Well, apparently that reaction also extends to reading about people in embarrassing situations. Which is ALL this book was about. I was cringing the entire way through it. I laughed a lot, though, and I liked the book. So thanks, Jen.

Dammit, I am SO TIRED of being sick. There’s things that need to be done around here, things that need to be done at work, and I’m going to have to start all over again with the Couch to 5k (though I suspect it was coming down with this illness that was making it so hard on me last week). Mostly, right now, I want Calvin home with me so I can keep an eye on him and force-feed him Gatorade.

Leave a Reply

