Oh, the hars!

Posted: January 30, 2008 in Family, Food, Health/Fitness, Home

I got home from work yesterday and immediately set about soaking and feeding the lizards.  Their brumation cycle makes it necessary for me to feed them a couple of times a week instead of daily.  I tend to load them up on the protein and soak them for longer periods to make sure they are well stocked for their prolonged naps.  Neither are interested in the least when I dump veggies in their dish. Just let them swim around, eat sixteen or twenty worms, and go back to sleep, thankyouverymuch. They usually hang out on their logs for the next day or so, then crawl back into their hides to resume their naps. Then they usually stir a few days or a week later, and I know it’s time to haul them out and dump them in the tub again.

MUCH lower maintenance then Those Darned Cats.

We had Chicken, Black Bean and Potato Skillet left over from Monday night’s dinner, so I hung out with Calvin in the kitchen while he cobbled together some dinner.

Uh. Mah. Gah. You guys.

He heated up the leftovers and smashed them a bit finer of consistency with the spatula, and added ranch and cheese. Then he took some flatbread that I had in the freezer (Trader Joes), thawed them and fried them golden and crispy on the outside, warm and chewy in the middle. Then he topped the flatbread with the skillet, more cheese, and jalapenos on mine, and broiled them in the oven for a few minutes.

Holy CRAP that stuff was good.  Like a tostada on crack.

So anyway, I hung out with Calvin in the kitchen while he cooked, and we talked and talked and TALKED. Mostly about the pending refi and the plans we’re making for a couple of years from now. We listened to the stereo, then I put on the Jersey Boys soundtrack and we sang along to that. Marie came downstairs, Michael showed up, and we all sat in front of the TV and har’d at America Idol.

At about 9:00 I got it into my head to go out for a “run”. Insert air quotes here, because if they’re going to be used ANYWHERE, this is where they apply. You guys, it bordered on the pathetic. No, scratch that, it didn’t BORDER on pathetic, it crossed the border and went right to the middle and set up camp in pathetic. The first week of Couch to 5k is twenty minutes broken up into 90 seconds of walking, 60 seconds of jogging, 90 seconds of walking, 60 seconds of jogging, etc.

I could barely manage it.

By the time I staggered around the neighborhood and got back home again, I was feeling leaden in my legs and light headed. I actually felt FAINT, forcryingoutloud. This is ridiculous. I’m so out of shape I’m going BACKWARDS. I’ll tell you what, this jogging business hurt so much that it damned well better WORK. And it better get easier than this, or I’m just going to give up and be fat and happy.

At eat entirely from the Fuckit Bucket.

Comments
  1. LauraH says:

    Something about the “soaking” made me smile. I just got done feeding and watering the cattle…er…dogs and cats here and it is amazing how much trouble they can be. Although that unconditional love and need makes it worth it.

  2. K says:

    You knucklehead!
    I couldn’t even do that 3 months into my “fat to fit” routine…Gotsta “build” into it!!!
    I’m surprised you didn’t have a stroke!!!!!
    Lovested you anyways!!!!

Leave a Reply

