Blarg. And also, feh.

Posted: January 27, 2008 in Journal

I’m feeling pooooopy today.  It’s my own fault.  I think I had either one too many Captain and diets, or one too many tequila shots.  I’m suspecting the latter.  We went to our local last night, then came home and settled in to watch “Good Luck Chuck” (decent – Dane Cook is a better actor than stand-up comedian, according to my husband’s assessment).  I guess I just wasn’t paying attention to how much I was drinking.  Giggle, sip.  Giggle, sip.  Guffaw, shot.

Blarg.

Another weekend of not getting anything done.  I stuck a package of chicken breasts in the crock pot with some broth and seasonings, taking the lazy way out of figuring out what to make for dinner.  I could make potatoes, I could make rice, we could roll the chicken up into wraps or eat chicken sandwiches.  There’s a lot you can do with cooked chicken that doesn’t require a lot of thought.  Just the kind of meal prep I’m up for today.

It’s raining – we’re catching the edges of the storm heading over from Southern California (the one that Jon and Heather are staying ahead of).  Which is no excuse for not getting the stuff done that needs doing inside. But we’d rather sit out in the hot tub – soaking in hot water, getting sprinkled with cold rain on our little heads – than fold laundry or mop floors.

We had to put a plastic tarp over the back of the Avalanche to keep out the rain. Stupid cargo panel stealing thief. Oh, did I tell you? Other Avalanches in the AcronymCo parking lot were thieved in the same way. And THEN on Friday I found a notice stuck under my windshield wiper, from AcronymCo security, informing me that Avalanche bed panels were being targeted for theft and to take precautions.

Yeah, thanks. I wonder if they noticed that the panels were already gone? Idjits.

Calvin is bummed out because there’s a leak somewhere inside the wall, below Marie’s upstairs bathroom.  We’re going to have to get into the wall and/or ceiling to even find it.  Heh, I say “we” but I really mean Calvin.  I’ll offer moral support, but I’m pretty much useless when it comes to anything handy.  I hold things and hand him tools and beer and keep him company and agree when he swears and curses, and go fetch back the things he throws.  A very important role, really, when you think about it.

Okay, I’ve GOT to get up off this couch and do something productive around here.  We already sat through a Travel Channel program on multi-million dollar RV’s and their poor suffering owners, and now a luxury yacht show is on. 

We’re not rich, and I totally resent it.

Oh, and I’m thinking of putting together a “best of” list of Snerkology entries from all the years of my writing (EIGHT this September, can you believe it?).  If anyone has any suggestions or thoughts on a particular favorite, leave a comment and let me know!

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    Then we were doing tequila shots together last night. I chose vanilla vodka and diet coke for my in between shot beverage of choice. However, I feel fine this morning in spite of everyone’s best efforts to make me heave my guts. Joke’s on them. It’s pretty bad when even the owner of the club is hell bent on getting you drunk. Eeeesh.

Leave a Reply

