Jerk it out

Posted: January 24, 2008 in Drama, Headspace

Sigh.

What IS it with my life, lately? I am sitting here in a mass of stress and anxiety so overwhelming and harsh that I want to simultaneously run screaming down the isles while tearing my hair out (and wouldn’t that entertain my cubicle neighbors), or I want to hide under my desk in a little ball and wait until everyone else has gone home until the only sound I can hear is of my own breathing.

Why yes, I AM feeling drama-queenish. Why do you ask?

My truck (Avalanche) had the bed panels stolen from it, while it was in the parking lot here at AcronymCo. I had to think about it to be sure it had happened here at work, and not at home, but I do distinctly remember seeing the panels this morning when I left. They weren’t there when Jen and I went to meet Calvin for lunch today.

So I’ve been thieved. Again. On a rather larger scale this time, fraught with security reports and police reports and insurance claims.

Calvin nearly fries himself yesterday. He’s still not feeling quite the thing today. Michael lost his job last night, which news served to stress us because if he can’t make ends meet, we have to pick up that end. And I’ve been dwelling on the whole finance/debt/money round of mental nonsense that I occasionally dwell upon. Nothing on that front at the moment is distinctly BAD, but it could sure has hell be a lot more GOOD.

Stress breeds stress, anxiety breeds anxiety. It’s as if my brain (and my life) says, “Well, this one thing isn’t enough to worry about, let’s stress about these five more things.” I HATE that part of having GAD (General Anxiety Disorder, for you new readers).

Today is a two-Xanax, hot-toddy, curl up in bed with the cat and a book kind of day. But I’m stuck here at work waiting for the police to contact me back so I can finish filing the report and perhaps meet with them here and review surveillance footage. If we can catch these fuckers on film during the act, that will go a long way toward making me feel better.

Stop the world, I want to get off.

Comments
  1. Jeanette says:

    “Stop the world, I want to get off” I feel like that sometimes too. I hope they catch those thieves so you can stop stressing about that part anyway!

Leave a Reply

