Freaky deaky

Posted: January 23, 2008 in Drama, Family
Tags:

Calvin is asleep on the couch right now.  He looks about as whupped as I’ve ever seen him.

Boyo got himself zapped with 480 volts today.

He works with and around a lot of electricity-requiring machinery in his job.  Today he leaned up against a thingy and brushed his hand up against another thingy, and POW.  Got his ass zapped.

While on a six foot ladder.

If the ladder hadn’t shifted, he wouldn’t have been able to break the contact.  If he hadn’t been positioned between two ceiling joists (jousts?  what the heck are those beams called?) he would have fallen off the ladder.

He had to “take a knee” for a minute, sit down and recover himself, splash some water on his face and make the dizzys go away.  Then he was tired, but okay.

It’s crap like this that makes me want to make him retire RIGHT NOW and become my apron-wearing house-frau.  I know his line of work has its dangers, and we did discuss what he WILL be doing differently in the future to prevent this from happening again.

It scared him, which is perhaps the best motivator to slow his ass down and be more careful.

He probably won’t thank me for posting this, but I’m all Panic! at the Disco at the moment.  I kept asking him if he was in pain, did his heart feel weird, any tingling or numbness… but no, he’s just wiped out.  Which is understandable.

I wish I could protect him from things like this.

Comments
  1. Jayne says:

    That’s very scary. Has he been for a check up at the hospital? I think he should.

  2. Laura says:

    I think he should too, but he refuses to go. “I am Man, hear me roar,” and all that.

  3. Laura says:

    BTW, it’s good to see you around here so much, Jayne!

  4. Jayne says:

    Aren’t men amazing … in a totally frustrating kind of way? They get a cold and it’s the end of the world. They electrocute themselves, or start suffering pain down their left side (as with my dear fella) and they refuse to pipe up and deal with it. (The pain turned out to be nothing to worry about BTW but, you know, it *could* have been serious).

    Oh, I was always round but the ferkin comments box at the old site seemed to be beyond me. …Can’t get rid of me now!
    Jxo

  5. Heather says:

    That is exactly why I didn’t think it was funny when guys would come up and jab my sides whilst yelling “BUUZZZZZZZ” while I was on a ladder with my head in the ceiling and my hands on a bunch of wires.

  6. Heather says:

    As much as I hate to side with Calvin (Hi Calvin! hee) I didn’t go to the hospital after I had gotten myself zapped either. I felt fine, I was just very shaken and actually more irritated with myself than anything for letting it happen.

Leave a Reply

