You guys are funny

Posted: January 22, 2008 in Calvin

Heh.  You guys crack me up.  I have mentioned a couple of times that I lay Calvin’s clothes out in the evening for work the next morning.  For some reason a bunch of you think this is just waaaay above and beyond the call of duty as a wife.  I guess there needs to be some clarification. 

Calvin wears a “uniform” of sorts.  A company polo, jeans, and work boots.  So it’s not as if I’m picking out a matching outfit for him to wear.  Just jeans, a shirt, socks, and boxers.  He gets up between an hour and an hour and a half before me, so I put his clothes in the bathroom so he doesn’t have to turn the light on and dig around and wake me up in the morning.

Also, because of my aforementioned hatred of folding the laundry and putting it away, Calvin’s clothes are usually split between the pile in the bedroom and the dryer in the garage.  So I get his clothes together for him so I don’t have to listen to him grouse and kvetch about how the laundry is all over the place.

Finally, I have a round of chores that I do every night before bed anyway, so adding the task of laying his clothes of is the work of thirty seconds, he appreciates it, and it makes his morning (and therefore mine) go a lot easier.  And I would like to mention that on the evenings that I haven’t gotten to it yet or have forgotten to get his clothes together, Calvin does it all by himself.

There.  Now you have the why of it.  You crazy funny readers, you.

Comments
  1. jadesymb says:

    eh. I still say he can lay out his own clothes! :p

  2. Barb says:

    That is a GOOD practice, in my opinion. He doesn’t have to turn the light on and wake you up, plus you don’t have to hear any kvetching. I get rudely awakened 5 days a week by a light coming on and the sound of dresser drawers opening and closing while my husband searches for something to wear to work. God help me if he can’t find what he’s looking for–then I’m out of bed trying to find what’s usually right under his nose.

    I’d much rather spend 30 seconds the night before and sparing myself the “drama” the next morning. You have a good plan there, Laura.

  3. Heather says:

    Say what you want…I still think he’s a big boy and can lay out his own clothes in the bathroom the night before so as not to wake you up. As a considerate and dutiful husband would. 😉

  4. Jayne says:

    Yeah, I stand by what I said and I agree with Heather. On the other hand, we all plough our own furrow and if that system works for you, that’s great.
    …You can be sure however that it ain’t happenin’ around here any time soon!

  5. Laura says:

    I’m sorry, Heather, but did you say DUTIFUL HUSBAND? [beat]… BWAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAA!!! Oh, my sides.

    Jayne – 😀

  6. Heather says:

    I also said CONSIDERATE. I crack me up. Heehee…

  7. Jeanette says:

    I think it’s a nice thing to do. I do things like that for my husband and enjoy it. It’s when it’s demanded and expected that it becomes a problem!!

Leave a Reply

