Health update

Posted: June 26, 2007 in health

In Arizona in the summertime (or well, really, in Arizona at any time), it is a very good idea to remain well hydrated. I am so much so that I am floating away, and leaving my desk every five minutes to go to the little girl’s room. Here’s the routine:

– One 8 oz glass of water mixed with the juice of one fresh lemon, first thing every morning upon rising (this is good for the digestion).
– One cup of coffee.
– One 1.5 liter bottle of water, consumed throughout the day.
– Two mugs of green tea, one in the morning, one in the afternoon (today it is Stash Fusion Breakfast Green & Black Tea blend).
– One 12 oz glass of cranberry juice sometime during the day (usually diluted with a little bit of water because that stuff is STAH-RONG).

I take a daily regime of digestive enzymes, a multi-vitamin, a calcium supplement, and a fish oil supplement. My skin and hair LOVE ME.

I am also trying to eat more healthy, whole, organic and/or natural foods. Lots of shopping at Trader Joe’s for that one. My usual breakfast is a half-cup of Kashi Go Lean Crunch, mixed with TJ’s blueberry or vanilla yogurt. Lunches have primarily been one of TJ’s pre-prepared salads, an apple, a piece of flat bread, and some hummus. Dinners are less disciplined but I try to at least keep the portions down and not coat things with butter, ranch dressing, cheese, or what have you. I leave all that to Calvin.

I also signed us up for a “Community Supported Agriculture” program from Desert Roots Farm. Members pay a fee by growing season, and once a week pick up a bag of freshly grown local produce. The summer season should see a selection of carrots, tomatoes, green beans, peppers, onions, eggplant, cucumbers, basil, leeks, watermelon, zucchini, okra, garlic, cantaloupe, squash, and black-eyed peas.

I would love to have a garden of our own, but it’s impossible to grow vegetables in Hell. Well, obviously Desert Roots can do it, but not this girl.

I had a blood test a couple of weeks ago, the results of which showed issues with my thyroid. SO! It’s off to yet another doctor, an endocrinologist this time, to get THAT fixed. I swear, ever since having my gallbladder out, my body has just gone to hell in a handbasket. I am sick to death of getting poked with needles and told, “Well, it could be this, or that, or this other thing…” Feh. Damn people mechanics, they really just guess a lot.

There you go, a bunch of information you weren’t really interested in. Hey, at least I didn’t talk about poo.

Leave a Reply

