The best kind of shopping there is.

Posted: April 19, 2007 in books

I just got done exercising a bunch of gift certificates I had for Barnes and Noble. Jen and I went to lunch together at the mall today, and afterwards spent a nice twenty minutes browsing around the book store. I didn’t buy anything then, but the book buying bug did bite me, so this evening I got on-line and placed a very satisfying order. Two weeks from Saturday ends my (mostly) self-imposed book reading hiatus, and oh my goodness do I have a selection to choose from!

Which is where you guys come in. Here are the books I just ordered, and the books I have waiting for me on my dresser. Give me your recommendations on what to read first! Or, if you know of a great book that’s not on the list, send me the title. It’s not as if I’m going to stop buying books any time soon.

(As an aside, on the whole I have found Amazon’s prices to be quite a bit better than B&N’s, even with B&N’s “membership discounts”. Amazon doesn’t require a membership, and in every instance of the books I just ordered the copies from Amazon were dollars cheaper. But! I had the gift certificates from B&N, so it’s to B&N I went.)

(As another aside, I was going to hyperlink the titles of the books, but then I realized I don’t feel like it.)

The Dream Hunter – Sherrilyn Kenyon
Dead Witch Walking – Kim Harrison
Moon Called – Patricia Briggs
And Only to Deceive (A Novel of Suspense) – Tasha Alexander
The Illuminatus! Trilogy – Robert Shea, Robert Anton Wilson
Last Voyage of the Valentina – Santa Montefiore
The Hallowed Hunt – Lois McMaster Bujold
The Outstretched Shadow – Mercedes Lackey, James Mallory
The Rest Falls Away – Colleen Gleason
Good Omens – Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman
The Eyre Affair – Jasper Fforde
Love at First Bite – Compilation with Sherrilyn Kenyon
A Walk in the Woods – Bill Bryson
Prague – Arthur Phillips
City of Shadows – Ariana Franklin

Jen’s gonna be mad at me – there’s like, three books on that list that were gifts from her, and I haven’t read them yet. I will! I promise!!!

Leave a Reply

