It’s a Maine thing, you wouldn’t understand.

Posted: April 11, 2007 in best things, Maine

Last night as I was falling asleep I was struck with a craving so hard that my mouth literally watered.

A REAL Maine Italian sandwich.

Picture courtesy of Amato's website

Nobody outside of Maine understands what’s with these things. I’ve forced them upon Calvin, Marie and Michael during our visits back home, and they’re all, “And? So? It’s a sandwich.” To which I respond that I am never speaking to them again.

A REAL Maine Italian consists of a foot of soft italian bread split down the center (hot-dog style), topped with ham or salami, white american or provolone (depending on the meat), then sliced tomatoes, sliced green peppers, kalamata olives, onions, pickles, salt, pepper, and olive oil. The whole thing is wrapped up in wax paper and the only way to eat it RIGHT is to peel the paper away from one end a little at a time as you’re eating it, so you don’t drop all of the ingredients and get covered in oil.

The thing that makes the Maine Italian REAL is the bread and the pickles. The bread is a foot of soft chewy goodness. The pickles are TART and just spicy enough. I haven’t been able to find either outside of Maine. Substitutes are tolerated NOT AT ALL.

Nearly everyone reading this entry is “from away” (that is, not from Maine). Go here for a unique, non-Mainer’s perspective. Play the slide show. I go to that Amato’s all the time… well, when I’m home. Which I will be in less than a month. I may cry. The tears, they are of joy.

Leave a Reply

