Nosy = Good

Posted: February 25, 2007 in Journal

Reader Megan, who lives near me and yet we have never met which is a shame, also answered the request for topics. She writes:

“Jean asked some of the same things I’ve been wondering about. Thanks for opening yourself up! They really are coffee table subjects–what an apt description. But I’ve also–what happened to Sideburns? I think you mentioned it once or twice a long time ago and when I saw it turning into…what is it, Asain now…I just wondered. Also, did you end up doing the Three Day? If so, how was it? If not, why not? Also, have you ever tried making an oil crust? It is much easier than a traditional crust and I think about as tasty, though probably more caloric. I could send you the recipe if you haven’t tried one. It’s just Better Homes and Gardens though, if you have that cookbook. Finally–thanks for the Dance Bitches! CD. It arrived on my due date for #3 who is now one and by the time I was up and about for sending thank yous, it just seemed too late…”

Sideburns was Calvin’s mom’s restaurant in downtown Chandler. She and her husband decided to get out of the restaurant business (and I sure do miss their burgers, and chili, and potato salad, and…). They sold to a person who did indeed turn the place into an Asian restaurant. I haven’t been in there yet… I don’t know, would it seem disloyal or something? Anyway, the restaurant business was certainly taking its toll on my MIL and her husband; they’re doing model home cleaning now and I think they like that better.

I did not end up doing the Three Day Walk for Breast Cancer last November, and I was sorry to make that decision. I’m going to have to have surgery on my feet at some point soon, and they would never be able to hold up over three days and sixty miles. When I talked to my doctor about it last summer, he said that while the cause was wonderful, it would really be bad on my feet and probably make surgery more urgent. Bunions. Gotta hate ’em. They’ve totally changed the shape of my feet and I’ve really got to be careful what I wear and how much I walk, or else I’m in agony (“Aaaah-goooone-eeeeee”).

I’ve never heard of oil crust, but I’m willing to try anything. I’m still relying on Pillsbury and their insta-crusts. And I don’t mind the increased calories – you’ve got to assume that anything that requires a crust probably isn’t wholly healthy, anyway. I mean, to me crust = pie. With ice cream. And whipped cream.

I’m really glad that everyone seemed to like the “Dance, Bitches!” CD I sent out last year. I’m toying with the idea of doing another mix CD, maybe compiling songs suggested by readers and sending them out to everyone. Judiciously peppered with songs of my own liking, of course. For instance, I am a newly minted fan of the Dropkick Murphys after watching “The Departed” last night and then immediately having the need to download “I’m Shipping up to Boston”.

Thanks so much, Megan, for playing along! I’ve got to say I’m really having fun with the reader questions, so I hope they keep coming. Again with the subtle hints…

Leave a Reply

