Best Things: January 29th ’07

Posted: January 29, 2007 in best things

Best things for January 29th ’07 (see previous installment).

  1. Being lucky in love. It’s been a while since I’ve had a warm-fuzzy fit, so hush you. About 95% of the time Calvin and I are in perfect accord, and that’s a percentage you can take to the bank. The 5% of angst barely registers in my assessment, simply because any arguments we have are short lived. Really, they qualify as spirited discussions more than anything. We did go through a tough spot for a couple of months last year, but since then things have just seemed to keep getting better. I guess it takes some tough times to throw the good times into sharp relief, and make you appreciate what you have.

    Ladies and gentlemen, my husband just wants to hang out with me. I’m his best friend, and he’s mine. We do everything together. We’re constantly talking about everything under the sun. I haven’t gotten boring to him, and he hasn’t gotten boring to me. We want to spend all of our time together. It’s a race, during a workday, to see who calls whom first. We look forward to seeing each other again at the end of the day. Really, it doesn’t get much better than that, marriage-wise.

  2. Chopped Greek Veggie Salad. This is a creation of mine that I’ve been basically living on lately. Mix together the following in a big bowl:

    – 1 whole cucumber, peeled, quartered, divested of seeds, and chopped
    – 1 whole red bell pepper, divested of seeds and chopped
    – 1 stalk of celery, chopped
    – 1/2 red onion, chopped
    – 3 roma tomatoes, divested of seeds and chopped
    – 1 small can of sliced black olives, rinsed and drained (about 1/3 cup)
    – 1 package of crumbled feta cheese (I use Athenos Reduced Fat)
    – 1/4 cup reduced fat balsamic vinaigrette dressing (I use Newman’s Own)
    – salt and pepper to taste

    I either pile this stuff on top of a bed of greens, or put it in a wrap or a piece of flatbread as a sandwich. If you use the lowfat dressing and feta, it’s actually not bad for you at all.

  3. Women’s Just Lounge Pants from Old Navy. If there is anything more comfortable on this planet, I defy you to find it and bring it to my attention.
Leave a Reply

