That’s gratitude for ya.

Posted: October 6, 2008 in Calvin, Food, Friends, goals, Headspace, Health/Fitness, Journal, Maine

I’m grateful that even though it seems the entire world economy is going to hell, and even though Calvin and I have lost our ASSES in our 401k accounts, and even though scary, scary things are happening – we are not upside-down in our home loan, we have enough money to pay our bills, and we even have a PLAN that will pay off our credit cards in relatively short order. We can’t go out and buy whatever we want whenever we want, and we can’t take grandiose vacations, but we can buy food and pay for electricity and afford gas for our truck.

I’m grateful that I can still call the home telephone number of my childhood and someone still picks up. It’s not Grammy, but it’s my uncle and we’re getting along much better than we did when I was a teenager. We even see eye to eye on a startling amount of topics. So whenever I’m homesick I can call that number and have a good conversation (in this morning’s case, nearly an hour and a half long!) and feel better afterwards.

I’m grateful for Calvin. No matter how crappy the world gets, as long as he and I are together it’s not as crappy as it could be. “Me and him against the world” is a frighteningly accurate idiom. I don’t know what I’d do, or how I’d do it, without him.

I’m grateful for food blogs. I have in the past couple of weeks made this (we had it last night and Calvin liked it!), these (I’ve made them a couple of times now and if you haven’t made them yet WHAT ARE YOU DOING HERE? GO NOW AND COOK.), and this (which Calvin did NOT like, but which I suspect anyone with a sophisticated palette would love, as I did. Humph.). In the near future I will be making this, this (similar to Grammy’s but necessitating the purchase of a tube pan which you can buy for me if ya wanna), and this (necessitating the purchase of a dutch oven which you can buy for me if ya wanna). I’m also grateful for my own food blog on which I have organized all of my own favorite recipes, making it handy to make this today (and if you haven’t made it yet WHAT ARE YOU DOING HERE? GO NOW AND COOK.).

I’m grateful that I’m strong enough, and healthy enough, to do thison a daily basis and have NOT YET DIED from it. Yet. I’m only on level one. But I can tell my endurance is improving. So I’m grateful that my days of being fit are NOT over. I’m also a teeny tiny bit grateful for Jillian Michaels. But only a teeny tiny bit.

Finally, I’m grateful to all of my readers, who make me laugh and commiserate with me and make me think and entertain me on a daily basis. I’m grateful to my fellow bloggers who ALSO make me laugh and commiserate with me and make me think and entertain me on a daily basis. I don’t remember what I did for entertainment or knowledge or useless trivia or funny videos before the Innernets, and I don’t remember how I related to people before I started blogging. Life, she is a funny thing.

So, guys. Tell me what you’re grateful for today.

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    I’m grateful for the two weeks’ worth of grocery money that we gleaned from our unwanted crap at this weekend’s yard sale. Woohoo!

  2. iamheatherjo says:

    I’m grateful for what I’m always grateful for. My family of friends and my furry kids. 🙂

  3. K says:

    That I still have my “Target” house, that I’m healthy, and that I have not one, but two jobs.

  4. Calvin says:

    I’m grateful that my wife likes to cook and is good at it, and that I was lucky enough to find someone so deep at all levels.
    And for the record the pasta bacon thing may have been ok but the pasta was over cooked and the recipe had waaaay to much parmesan which should be on the side not in it.
    Also I’m grateful you take cooking so seriously that your still butt rashed just because I did not like one thing you made, walk it off! 🙂

  5. Laura says:

    TB – WOOOOOT! (also, to be all Captain Obvious about it, SOMEONE wanted your “unwanted crap”)

    Heather – But of course! That goes without saying.

    K – Your “target” house?

    Calvin – SHADDAP. (Also, awww, warm fuzzy!)

  6. angelcel says:

    Every night I pray for my family’s health, wealth and happiness (wealth, as in the things that really matter, i.e. love of family, good friends, a happy and comfortable home etc). We are lucky enough to have been blessed with all of that, and for that I’m *very* grateful.

  7. nicrenkel says:

    Something else to be thankful for: An identical twin grandson.

  8. nicrenkel says:

    Whoops, that didn’t work. He’s another route: http://nicrenkel.wordpress.com/ (It’s right at the top)

  9. Laura says:

    Jayne – You’re so right!

    Nicrenkel – What on earth happened to Lanie, do you know??? She un-friended me on MySpace and now I don’t know how to get in contact with them or if it would even be welcome! 😦

Leave a comment