Music player shuffle meme

Posted: August 11, 2008 in Listy goodness, meme, Music

Shamelessly stolen from Amy.

1. Put your mp3 player or music player on your computer on random.
2. Post the first four lines from the first 20 songs that play, no matter how embarrassing the song (skip repeat artists).
3. Post and let everyone you know guess (in the comments!) what song and artist the lines come from.
4. Don’t fucking cheat, you Google whores!

one

Oh… oh oh oh oh oh…
You don’t have to go
Oh oh oh oh
You don’t have to go…

two

These are the days
These are days you’ll remember
Never before and never since, I promise
Will the whole world be warm as this

three

I’m just a normal boy
That sank when I fell overboard
My ship would leave the country
But I’d rather swim ashore

four

I never meant 2 cause u any sorrow
I never meant 2 cause u any pain
I only wanted 2 one time see u laughing
I only wanted 2 see u laughing in the purple rain

five

Tonight the sky above
Reminds me of you, love
Walking through wintertime
Where the stars all shine

six

You are far,
When I could have been your star,
You listened to people,
Who scared you to death, and from my heart,

seven

i’ve waited hours for this
i’ve made myself so sick
i wish i’d stayed
asleep today

eight

Watching the people get lairy
Is not very pretty I tell thee
Walking through town is quite scary
And not very sensible either

nine

When you were so in love with me
I played around like I was free
Thought I could have my cake and eat it too
but how I cried over losing you.

ten

We got the afternoon,
You got this room for two,
One thing I’ve left to do,
Discover me, discovering you.

eleven

Hey fellas have you heard the news? Oh yeah.
The women in this town are being misused. Oh yeah.
Yeah I seen it all in my dreams last night. Oh yeah.
Girls leaving this town ’cause they don’t treat em right-a. Oh yeah.

twelve

There she goes
There she goes again
Racing through my brain
And I just can’t contain

thirteen

I’m the kinda girl that hangs with the guys
Like a fly on the wall with my secret eyes
Takin it in, try to be feminine
With my makeup bag watchin all the sin

fourteen

You know you’ve seen them northern lights
You’ve never seen them there before
We could have been anything that we wanted to be
We took the easy way out

fifteen

The little things you say and do
Make me want to be with you-oo-ooo
Rave on
It’s a crazy feelin’

sixteen

I want to break free
I want to break free
I want to break free from your lies
Youre so self satisfied I dont need you

seventeen

And so
Annie waits, annie waits, annie waits
For a call
From a friend

eighteen

Born down in a dead man’s town
The first kick I took was when I hit the ground
You end up like a dog thats been beat too much
Till you spend half your life just covering up

nineteen

Movin to the country
gonna eat a lot of peaches
I’m movin to the country
I’m gonna eat me a lot of peaches

twenty

I call you,when I need you my hearts on fire
You come to me, come to me, wild and wild
You come to me, give me everything I need
Give me a lifetime of promises and a world of dreams

Comments
  1. Jen says:

    There she goes
    that’s on rockband,right?
    erm, I’d have to cheat to know more…

  2. Laura says:

    Jen – Um… I’m not sure, is 10,000 Maniacs on Rockband? I haven’t seen ’em, but I don’t pretend to know the entire Rockband playlist. I can’t BELIEVE you didn’t at least get Prince.

  3. Heather says:

    I love ‘Peaches’. Aaaahhh…John used to HATE when I would sing that around the house because it would get stuck in his head for days. Heehee…

  4. koroshiya says:

    1.) d’yer mak’er – led zeppelin (or sheryl crow)
    2.) these are days – 10,000 maniacs
    3.) don’t know.
    4.) purple rain – prince
    5.) this time – jonathan rhys meyers
    6.) kissing a fool – george michael (or michael bublé)
    7.) close to me – the cure
    8.) don’t know.
    9.) don’t know.
    10.) your body is a wonderland – john mayer
    11.) leaving here – the who (or the high numbers, depending on when, heh – also pearl jam.)
    12.) there she goes – the la’s (or sixpence none the richer)
    13.) don’t know.
    14.) don’t know.
    15.) rave on – buddy holly
    16.) i want to break free – queen
    17.) annie waits – ben folds
    18.) born in the usa – bruce springsteen
    19.) peaches – presidents of the usa
    20.) don’t know.

    14. more than i thought i’d remember. heh.

  5. fishdreamer says:

    thirteen is Hey Baby by No Doubt. That and Purple Rain were probably the most obvious to me – oh, and There She Goes.

    Fourteen and nine sound really familiar, but I can’t place them without cheating.

  6. Taoist Biker says:

    Okey day, I’ll take this challenge. I’m gonna be out later this week so I’ll set it to post when I’m gone. 😉

  7. Jen says:

    IT wasn’t rock band, it was from that kareoke game I used to play with my friends.
    I know the song know that someone pointed out who the singer is.

  8. Laura says:

    Heather – It is quite an earworm, isn’t it?

    Koroshiya – Impressive! #1 is the zep version (of course), #6 is the george michael version, #11 is the pearl jam version, #12 is the sixpence version, #15 is the john mellencamp version.

    Fishdreamer – I’ll post the answers in a few days, to give everybody the chance.

    Jen – Uh huh, suuuuuure. 😛

  9. dyskinesia says:

    3 is Into the Ocean by Blue October. I had to giggle when I heard the ‘more masculine’ line.

    9 is Working my way back to you, but I’m wondering which version you have. The ONLY reason I got this is because I happened to hear my dad singing it in my head as I read it.

    I got all the 80s stuff, a couple 90s, and flunked most of the rest. I usually suck at lyrics unless they are 80s – go figure.

    Will definitely be doing this one myself. 🙂 Thanks for the cds!!!

Leave a comment